We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 139 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

For a couple who now feel too old to stay in hostels, but not wanting to stay in faceless multi-story hotels, TRH was perfect. It was very professional, but still very homely. The communal areas provided the opportunity to meet and chat to other travellers, which we really enjoyed.

We stayed in Selva which was one of the cheaper rooms but it still had a lovely view of the beautiful garden. The room itself was spacious, beautifully decorated and expertly cleaned every day.

There was a delicious breakfast (included in the price) waiting for us each morning, and the service we got from everyone was first rate.

We were also delighted with he location. Being in the heart of Condesa we were spoilt for choice with restaurants, but still close enough to all the major attractions.

If I go back to Mexico City again I would definately book in there once more.

  • Liked — The family atmosphere
  • Disliked — There was some noise from improvement works, but this can't be helped really
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evilestherLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
115
502
126
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

Everything was great. We expected lots of noise but were surprised how quiet it was. There is a park very nearby - good for jogging and fun to walk through. Lots of very good restaurants very close and so is the Metro (highly recommended). Hotel is staffed by a fantastic group of people (and 1 dog!). Our room was unbelievably comfortable - best B&B we have stayed in in a long time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laexodus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

Before our visit, we were astounded to see Red Tree House's perfect excellent rating with 30+ reviews, and a little doubtful any place could live up to such hype. But Craig, Jorge and everyone at Red Tree House do just that. They are consummate hosts on every level, and made us feel like family from the moment we arrived to the moment we left -- not any easy feat considering during our 4-night stay we met guests from at least six countries. This "at home" feeling extended to group breakfasts and evening drinks in the living room or patio, where guests gathered to socialize and relax before and after a day of touring or working. The group outing to Xochimilco was a blast, and Craig and Jorge were most helpful in arranging taxis to destinations such as Teotihuacan. But you might find it difficult to leave Red Tree House to go see those places, because it's a beautiful complex with clean, modern and comfortable rooms. They're also in a wonderful neighborhood, with many great nearby restaurants, cafes and bars. It's walkable to attractions like Chapultepec Park and Zona Rosa, if you don't mind a little exercise. Plus, there's a metro subway station just a few blocks away. After our visit, we can see why Red Tree House has their stellar rating. We just hope it doesn't become so popular we can't get a reservation next time!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank laexodus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed in the Oaxaca room on the courtyard.

Positives:
- comfortable beds
- nice decor
- nice public areas for relaxing (dining room, living room, courtyard)
- quiet rooms (in courtyard)
- good breakfasts
- helpful and friendly
- good location in Condesa

Negatives:
- no heat in the room (maybe this is not normally an issue, unless the weather is cold)

  • Liked — Ambiance and location
  • Disliked — No heat in rooms (but may not be issue normally due to weather)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JaneinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cougsfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

This is a wonderful B&B. We stayed for 4 nights at the start of our honeymoon in Mexico City. We had a stunning suite with fluffy, comfy bed, stylish bathroom and great views into the little courtyard. The delicious breakfasts were local mexican food, and different every day! We loved the staff and the owners are welcoming and warm. We enjoyed a glass of wine each night with them in front of the fire. Condesa is a superb area of Mexico City and the Red Tree House recommended some great places to eat and sightsee.
They even managed to arrange for us to see the Luche Libre! What an experience. PLEASE stay here, it's perfect in every way.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, stylish hotel
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cougasfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

The Red Tree House is a beautiful oasis in the Condesa district of Mexico City. My boyfriend and I stayed here in December '08 and it was an absolute treasure. I remember how happy i was when i was greeted by Jorge and Craig and of course the beautiful Abril (their dog). Their beautiful home will make you wish you lived there. I tried to get them to employ me I loved it so much.
The location is perfect for the many sites you'd want to visit. Early evening at the house is fun to meet with other guests over a nice glass of wine or mezcal to kick off the rest of the night.

Breakfasts every morning is beautiful and honestly it's so satisfying and much needed for all day sightseeing.

Great stay and we can't wait to be back!

  • Liked — love, attention and care!
  • Disliked — Everything was great!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Summerflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

Stayed 3 days. B&B is in Condesa, a good area of Mexico City. Plenty of restaurants around and easy walking distance to hop-on-hop-off bus. Building is old but well maintained & decorated. Location is a little noisy but probably typical of most in a busy. Room, linen, towels clean and fresh. Pre-dinner drinks with staff & other guests a nice bonus. Good breakfast with a local touch. Staff excellent and very helpful with advice before and during stay.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Oztraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#44 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 305 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#47 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Property: The Red Tree House
Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing