We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Tree House excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 141 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Red Tree House excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

Stayed 3 days. B&B is in Condesa, a good area of Mexico City. Plenty of restaurants around and easy walking distance to hop-on-hop-off bus. Building is old but well maintained & decorated. Location is a little noisy but probably typical of most in a busy. Room, linen, towels clean and fresh. Pre-dinner drinks with staff & other guests a nice bonus. Good breakfast with a local touch. Staff excellent and very helpful with advice before and during stay.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Oztraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
116
505
126
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

Trust the positive reviews of Red Tree House here because this B&B is very good. We spent 5 nights at RTH at the start and end of 3 weeks in Mexico. Our room was small but well furnished and comfortable. An attractive interior courtyard garden separated our room from the dining area and lounge.

Breakfast, served between 8 and 10 am, was all we desired: fresh tea and coffee, juice, baked goods, fruits, yogurt and main plates such as scrambled eggs and ham or bread shells with frijoles and fresh homemade salsa. There was plenty of food, even for the largest of appetites.

The real quality of RTH though is the human part. The owners were always available to advise and assist. We got excellent restaurant and visitor information and a friendly reception. They arranged a car and driver for us. Enrique, an excellent driver and city guide, was also a trustworthy, sincere and friendly person. We used his services on 3 days, including a return trip to Teotihuacan, and believe the costs were excellent value. Thank you to RTH for connecting us.

Other guests sharing the B&B included people from America, Australia, Canada and Britain. We enjoyed swapping travelers' stories at the breakfast table.

One other benefit: Within easy walking distance are a number of excellent dining spots including one directly across the street that is one of Mexico City's better restaurants.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Everything OK
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

I had read all the positive reviews of the Red Tree House on TA and, thought this B&B may be too good to be true, but, I also could not find fault with the place. I stayed for 7 days in September and I absolutely loved it!! After trips to Oaxaca City and Vera Cruz, I made a point to return and booked two extra nights at the end of my trip, which I had not originally planned.
Jorge and Craig, the owners, were wonderful and accommodating, as well as Adrien and Alfredo....not to mention their very nice cleaning and cooking staff. I stayed at the Red Tree penthouse, and, although, small, it was so comfy and private. Nice pillows, soft mattress, and comforter and very tastefully decorated. I stayed in two different rooms for my remaining two nights in the DF and I also could not find fault with them. Even the shared-bathroom, rooms are very nice and loved the way they were decorated.
I really felt like I had met "family" there during my stay as everyone was so helpful as far as giving travel advice, and eager to help with almost anything. Meeting other fellow travellers was also a bonus, because the place was small and not like an impersonal hotel. Of, course, I fell in love with Abril, the beautiful Labrador, but that was not hard to do!!. The morning breakfast was wonderful, with fresh fruit, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, pastries and something cooked hot each morning, if we desired. The neighborhood was wonderful, with leafy streets, parks and lots of restaurants. I felt safe as a lone female walking at night. Proximity to metro train and buses and taxis was a short walk. Thank you ever so much for making my stay so wonderful in such a great City, Jorge!!!

  • Liked — I loved everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dianaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

I stayed at the RTH for a long weekend and like a previous poster, I felt like I was visiting friends. Jorge and Craig were amazing hosts, extremelly helpful, warm and caring. The staff was also very friendly and even the dog, Avril, was a sweetheart!

The location is perfect and the house is beautiful. I stayed at the little tree house and it was ideal for one person and very private.

The house is only a few blocks from the metro, the touribus and a taxi sitio. There are restaurantes all over the area, including one right across the street.

Couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

My girlfriend and I were lucky enough to spend a night at the Red Tree House in late August of 2008. The property was lovely and our room, the petit penthouse, was so romantic. What it lacked in size (it was rather small), it more than made up for in character and style. It was also very private and had its own patio overlooking the courtyard.

Breakfast in the main house was delicious. It consisted of fresh fruits and juices, yogurt, an assortment of breads and croussants, Mexican style scrambled eggs, and coffee.

My favorite part of our stay, however, was sharing great conversation over a few glasses of red wine with our gracious host and other houseguests in the evening. It felt like we were visiting old friends with really excellent guest quarters. If I'm ever in Condessa again, I will definitely check on the Red Tree House's availability.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosRaurell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed one night at the Red Tree House in the Oaxaca suite and would _highly_ recommend it to anyone visiting Mexico City. Jorge welcomed us into his beautiful home and treated us like family. At every opportunity, Jorge went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and special. We were simply blown away with his hospitality, as were our friends (who weren't even staying there!) We really felt like we were coming home.
The suite itself was beautiful. It has a small sitting area, bedroom, and an ensuite bathroom. Everything is exquisitely decorated. The entire house is gorgeous, in fact. And even Abril, the dog, is lovely!
Our experience at the Red Tree House was unsurpassed. Thank you Jorge!

  • Liked — Jorge's phenomenal hospitality, beautiful decor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tsktsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

As noted on the prior posts, this is an amazing B and B in a fabulous Mexico City neighborhood. The stay exceeded our already high expectations in every way. We celebrated an anniversary and a birthday at the inn. As pet owners we must also note is was nice to "borrow" Avirl, the house lab, during our stay to get our dog fix! Thank you, Kathy and Phil Belcher

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank neportlandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#47 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 306 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#51 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Property: The Red Tree House
Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing