We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Tree House”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 166 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you are coming to Mexico City this is the place to stay. You will feel at home the minute you walk into the door. The staff is most helpful with any request. The accommodations are excellent & the morning breakfast will delight anyone.
I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

I just returned from a week's stay at this exquisite hotel. The Red Tree House deserves all the accolades it receives. Based on 45 years of travel, I must say this hotel is among the best I have stayed in, anywhere!! The ambience, staff and rooms are five star. The many staff that are there to please is akin to having your own private concierge service. From suggesting a museum itinerary to visits of architectural landmarks like the Luis Barragan house to recommendations of gourmet yet reset able restaurants in the charming Condesa neighborhood, this staff is five star. Apart from the beautiful rooms and gardens, and a fire in the fireplace every evening, I must mention the breakfasts. I stayed six days and every morning there was a different gourmet breakfast main course, always accompanied by fresh squeezed orange juice, cereals, fruit, Mexican pastries and freshly made coffee. If you can book a room, enjoy this wonderful hotel in one of Mexico City's best neighborhoods, as I will again in 2015!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bill1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely LOVED this place!! The rooms are absolutely gorgeous. There is a wonderful, beautifully decorated little courtyard for chilling in the afternoon. The breakfast is soooo good. The people working here are friendly and helpful. We genuinely wanted for nothing. Great selection of restaurants in the area. Easy access to Historical Centro and to San Angel / Coyocan. Couldn't recommend more highly.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Hongkongfoodie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Tripadvisor reviews are generally quite accurate but I still take them with a grain of salt, especially the overly gushy ones. Whatever place you are reading about usually isn't really THAT perfect. My husband and I can say that in this case, the Red Tree House really IS. We had an amazing four-night stay that far surpassed our best expectations.

We were a little reluctant to stay in a B&B as we like our privacy and didn't want to be "forced" to socialize or feel obligated to mealtimes. At the Red Tree House nothing feels forced - tables are spread out throughout the downstairs and patio area and breakfast spans two hours so you can come as you wish. Nightly "happy hour" starts at around six. Everyone (staff and other guests) was so friendly and genuine that we actually found ourselves eager to socialize - share our days' adventures and get to know people from around the world.

The hotel itself if beautiful, filled with amazing and unique artwork. The entire staff is extremely helpful and friendly. (I don't know how we would have fared without all the tips, suggestions and directions for taking the Metro!) The breakfasts are outstanding and can be easily tailored to your needs (i.e. vegetarian). The neighborhood is lovely and safe.

I could go on but it's all been said in previous posts. Mexico City is an amazing place to visit in terms of history, culture, museums, etc. The sheer size and scope can be overwhelming (in a good way) and the Red Tree house truly is the perfect oasis and home base for your visit. We are so happy that we chose to stay there - it really made our vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Myself and 3 friends stayed at the Red Tree House in June 2014. We found this place online purely by chance and we were not disappointed when we arrived. It was a refreshing change from your typical hotel/ B&B. All the staff were very friendly, made us feel welcome and went out of their way to ensure we had a good trip. They personally walked us down to local restaurants, made excellent recommendations for us and assisted us in finding our way around the city. The delicious Mexican breakfast prepared for us every morning was also a bonus. If I go to Mexico City again I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelDS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our selva room costs 125 USD all inclusive per night, early june. This comes with a large breakfast and a late afternoon drink. But most of all, it comes with some gorgeous human factors we've seen nowhere else on earth.

We love love love :
- The whole bunch staff, always willing to help, assist, smiling, serving, and so on. Special hug to adorable senor Ernesto and energetic senor Alex.

We like :
-Nicely preserved and decorated Bed and breakfast house in neat neighborhood Condensa
-Our Selva room costs 125 and comes a bit short of room, but more choices are to be found from their very accute website, nonetheless, everything a simple traveller may need is just there.
-Comfortable bed, and ok bathroom
-Very nice breakfast scene and nice drinks are served by the kitchen when evening comes
-Condensa looks safe and plenty of dining options are not far away
-Reliable wifi

We don't like :
-nothing so far, may be a kettle ? Or a bit better window blind ? Or a bit sweating stroll to the nearest subway station.

So definitely the place to share with friends when in Mexico DF, at very pleasant price.

Tips :
-Go to their website, paypal the first night, then cash the balance to avoid extra taxes
-A bit complicated to get there by your own, do it if you're not loaded with bags. And remember, when the trafic is green, it's only 15 minutes from the airport by taxi

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very comfortable home-from-home boutique hotel in Condesa region of Mexico City. Well staffed in a homely and relaxing way. Young and old alike, multi-cultural. Good base for touring the city. Fantastic period property - why would you stay in a large clinical corporate when you could stay here ?

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwystand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
195 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#26 of 312 in Mexico City
967 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
#10 of 166 in Mexico City
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: $95 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing