We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 138 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CA, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

I stayed at the RTH for a long weekend and like a previous poster, I felt like I was visiting friends. Jorge and Craig were amazing hosts, extremelly helpful, warm and caring. The staff was also very friendly and even the dog, Avril, was a sweetheart!

The location is perfect and the house is beautiful. I stayed at the little tree house and it was ideal for one person and very private.

The house is only a few blocks from the metro, the touribus and a taxi sitio. There are restaurantes all over the area, including one right across the street.

Couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BikeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
501
126
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami, fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

My girlfriend and I were lucky enough to spend a night at the Red Tree House in late August of 2008. The property was lovely and our room, the petit penthouse, was so romantic. What it lacked in size (it was rather small), it more than made up for in character and style. It was also very private and had its own patio overlooking the courtyard.

Breakfast in the main house was delicious. It consisted of fresh fruits and juices, yogurt, an assortment of breads and croussants, Mexican style scrambled eggs, and coffee.

My favorite part of our stay, however, was sharing great conversation over a few glasses of red wine with our gracious host and other houseguests in the evening. It felt like we were visiting old friends with really excellent guest quarters. If I'm ever in Condessa again, I will definitely check on the Red Tree House's availability.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosRaurell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed one night at the Red Tree House in the Oaxaca suite and would _highly_ recommend it to anyone visiting Mexico City. Jorge welcomed us into his beautiful home and treated us like family. At every opportunity, Jorge went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and special. We were simply blown away with his hospitality, as were our friends (who weren't even staying there!) We really felt like we were coming home.
The suite itself was beautiful. It has a small sitting area, bedroom, and an ensuite bathroom. Everything is exquisitely decorated. The entire house is gorgeous, in fact. And even Abril, the dog, is lovely!
Our experience at the Red Tree House was unsurpassed. Thank you Jorge!

  • Liked — Jorge's phenomenal hospitality, beautiful decor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tsktsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

As noted on the prior posts, this is an amazing B and B in a fabulous Mexico City neighborhood. The stay exceeded our already high expectations in every way. We celebrated an anniversary and a birthday at the inn. As pet owners we must also note is was nice to "borrow" Avirl, the house lab, during our stay to get our dog fix! Thank you, Kathy and Phil Belcher

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank neportlandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

Mexico City does have some beautiful, safe neighborhoods and luckily a friend recommended the Red Tree House ( B & B style). Our room was spacious and quiet, with a comfortable bed & we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the gorgeous, courtyard garden. The host, Jorge is very welcoming and speaks english, plus he has knowledge of most of Mexico. The neighborhood restaurants were varied and tasty. We took the metro during the day with no fear, walked at night near the Red Tree House and felt quite safe. At night the police ride with their lights flashing/ it's comforting to see them cruising.
There's so much to do in M.C. we look forward to returning to a "home" away from home. The website photos are accurate / check it out and have a reasonably priced great vacation!

  • Liked — It combines a neighborhood feel with lovely accomodations at a VERY reasonable price for a big city!
  • Disliked — That I could not stay is different rooms each night! Bathrooms are beautiful in the addition.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed here 3 times in August for a couple of nights each time on our travels round Mexico. It was excellent. Craig and Jorge are wonderful hosts, relaxed and helpful in every possible way. When I arrived ill on our last visit, Adrien came with me to buy pills at the pharmacy, they let us leave luggage while we travelled, and were happy to settle the bill at the end , trusting us to turn up and pay. It really felt like our home in Mexico.

The bedrooms are clean and nicely decorated and the bathrooms are good. The breakfasts were delicious and very flexible. Jorge made a delicious Mexican breakfast one day. Craig made a real effort to find us the right rooms for our family on the dates we needed, and was so helpful on restaurants, places to see and how to get there. He also quickly dispelled my paranoia about Mexico City! Thank-you.

  • Liked — the warm welcome
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wanderer2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

I stayed here with 2 girlfriends and we had an amazing stay. We felt very safe and comfortable and truly loved everything about this place. Jorge and Adrian were amazingly helpful and sweet and really made our stay in Mexico City fantastic. We stayed in the penthouse which was like a private oasis in the city. It had beautifully appointed rooms, very comfortable beds, nice roof deck, living area and also had a dining table and kitchenette. I highly recommend this room! (The only thing..there is a tricky spiral staircase so if you have any difficulty with stairs or require an elevator, this room may not be for you).

The daily breakfast was fantastic with made-to-order eggs and fresh pastries from the local bakery. The staff really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and also gave great tips on places to see and do around town. They never steered us wrong!

I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — The staff, room, breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#45 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 305 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#47 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Property: The Red Tree House
Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing