We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming oasis”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 161 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My partner and I had a lovely stay at The Red Tree House, and it's immediately apparent why people are so loyal to it. The breakfast is great, the house is charming, and the hosts are outrageously generous and friendly. The staff, which consists of a few gentlemen and a small army of debonair young guys, will bend over backwards to help you with whatever you need. Are you going to the subway? Here's a metro ticket. Sitting in the backyard? Let me bring you a beer. They are really the best hosts I've ever met in a b&b, by miles. The rooms are basic and small, at least the Balcony room was, but it's very easy to spend your hotel time in the backyard or the living room. I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Splurge for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

So much has been written regarding the charms of the Red Tree house and all posituve reviews cannot be disputed. It is truly the ideal place to stay in Mexico City. Everything was truly perfect about this B & B including accomodations, staff, location, and breakfasts. I would highly recommend Red Tree house to anyone and my husband and I hope to return to this lovely place once again. Georgiana and Ted Erie, Penna

Room Tip: The annex where we stayed is also quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgiana747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We just got back from spending three nights at this B&B. We loved it! The B&B is located in a wonderful & safe community in the city. It is clean, comfortable, and welcoming. The hosts are so enjoyable and go out of their way to make you comfortable! We loved the happy hour they have every night as it is a chance to meet people from all over the world. The breakfast was different each day and delicious!! The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy! We plan on visiting Mexico City again and will absolutely come back to The Red Tree House!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My fourth stay at the Red Tree House and this time stayed in La Rama across the street. It was a very nice, quiet stay but you are of course welcome to have breakfast and enjoy the happy hour at the main building.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calpoidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Make your reservations as soon as you think you want to go to Mexico City. We were the envy of other tourists because we "got in". Be sure to spend time with the hosts and staff, they are exceptionally helpful and concerned about their visitors.. They will make you feel just like family.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If there were a competition for the friendliest hotel in the world, I would not bet against The Red Tree House Hotel. From the moment that we arrived, knackered after a long transatlantic flight, we were made to feel like old friends who had just been away for a few months.
The hotel itself it a sprawl of rooms (I never did manage to get an idea of the structure) some of which clearly belong to an annexe, but the important rooms are the reception area, kitchen, breakfast room and garden. This is where all the action takes place, particularly in late afternoon from about 6.30 to 8.00 when Victor, or Ernesto, or Ricardo, or whoever will appear with bottles of wine or beer and encourage the guests to indulge in an aperitif and get to know each other. And it works a treat.
The bonhomie spills over to breakfast where I found myself (usually misanthropically monosyllabic in the mornings, especially when jet-lagged) chatting to people with whom I had shared a drink 12 hours or so before and even those with whom I had not yet had that pleasure. Breakfast itself was a delightful buffet: excellent coffee, tisanes and fruit juice, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghourt, churros, enormous croissants and the Mexican hot dish of the day – inevitably involving eggs.
Our bedroom was clean, roomy and with adequate storage space. If I have any criticism at all it is that the bathroom door was translucent which means that if either of us went to the bathroom in the night, it inevitably woke the other.
Location is also splendid, being in the heart of the leafy and elegant Condesa district with its many restaurants, bars and cafés. The staff are always ready to give advice on which places to dine or drink at and will also recommend trustworthy guides, drivers and tour operators. All in all a lovely place to stay and a million miles away from the usual image of Mexico City as being a vast noisy urban sprawl.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Small boutique hotel in a loverly old house, nice modern rooms, a little on the small side, but well designed and charming setting. Staff are warm and welcoming and create a good vibe, encouraging guests to mix at breakfast and hosted small drinks parties in early evening. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4me2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#56 of 312 in Mexico City
170 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa
Maria Condesa
#29 of 312 in Mexico City
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
2,760 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Polanco
Las Alcobas
Las Alcobas
#2 of 312 in Mexico City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: $95 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing