We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book your trip around the RTH”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 151 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Book your trip around the RTH”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Next time we visit Mexico City, we'll plan our trip around availability at the RTH. The rooms, the hosts, the guests, the setting, the art - everything exceeded our already high expectations. Every accoldate you read on TA is spot-on accurate. In addition the Contessa neighborhood is delightful - safe and lively during the day and night. And the bank machine at the nearby supercasa is so convenient, too. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
126
515
127
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, On
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After reading the TA reviews for Red Tree House, we knew it was the only place we wanted to stay in Mexico City. I won't repeat everything that's been said, but Red Tree House is unique; we've never had a hotel/B&B experience like it - we felt like house guests not hotel guests.
RTH is amazing beyond believe - Craig, Jorge, Victor, Ernesto, Alejandro and Martin are the best and Abril is the most delightful dog ever. The location in Condesa is perfect. Would return in a heartbeat and would recommend it highly. Thanks for the best experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We tried 3 times before there was a room available at The Red Tree House. It was worth the wait! The rooms are fine and clean although a little small. What makes this hotel/B&B exceptional is the management and staff. It is like visiting old friends. We were greeted as if they knew us and were so happy we were back! We felt at home immediately.
You are welcomed every evening with a wine hour that turns into a terrific meet and greet, with the host and other guest exchanging what happened in their days and information on sights to see and activities. The complementary breakfast is wonderful and sharing the communal table with other guests was something that we looked forward to. The people who where staying there had all been repeat guests and loved the experience. It is located in Condesa, an area of DF that is filled with great restaurants and very safe and comfortable to walk in. We truly loved our time with the amazing men who make staying at The Red Tree House and experience that you want to repeat often.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shariewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Red Tree House
Stop me if you’ve heard this one before…..The Red Tree House is incredible!
My husband & I were fortunate to spend a week in paradise with the warm, friendly, kind, competent, energetic & accomplished crew @ The Red Tree House. No request is too small or too big for them to efficiently handle and they do so with graciousness and an ever present smile.
The RTH is a beautifully decorated boutique hotel in the heart of the bougainvillea street lined district of Condesa. Our “Cloud in Paradise” was the Lafayette Suite, which includes a seating area with windows that open out to the courtyard, a small balcony as well as a small eating area and kitchenette. The room includes an in-suite bathroom with nice size shower, super comfortable bed, firm pillows and a personal safe. The Lafayette Suite was a great place to unwind after a long day of walking the city.
The RTH crew does a wonderful job of introducing guests to each other, which encourages the guests to get to know one another and swap traveling stories and tips, should they chose to do so. If you prefer a more solitude stay – there are private room balconies and small courtyard tables. The crew knows the city well and can make many recommendations for restaurants, shopping and navigating the taxis and metro. The RTH is very near a metro stop and we either walked or took the metro from one end of the city to the other!
The breakfast is a really nice touch – fresh fruit, juice, pastries, coffee, tea, etc and a different, freshly prepared Mexican breakfast served daily. We met a handful of interesting, well-traveled, funny people during the nightly Happy Hours and it was a treat to hear how others spent their time in the city.
There are places to eat & drink around practically every corner and very near the RTH. We spent the day exploring the city but returned to the Condesa area every evening to unwind and have dinner.
Our experience with the RTH, from start to finish, was that of a first class establishment! We were greeted warmly upon arrival, hugged at departure and treated like “family” during our entire stay.
I cannot say enough about the entire crew – Victor, Ernesto, Alex, Martin, Ricardo as well as Craig & Jorge and sweet Abril (Puppylove) and the breakfast ladies. I’d love for them all to visit Chicago some day!

Room Tip: The Lafayette is a good size room for a couple and is on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoTraveler6651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is our fifth year staying at the Red Tree House, and I expect we will continue to return each year. We love Mexico City and in particular this area of DF, and a big part of he the appeal is the RTH. It is a beautiful building with well decorated rooms, a lovely garden and inside sitting areas. But the best parts is the people. The owners and staff are welcoming and helpful. The visitors come from all over the world. The setting encourages meeting other guests (although if privacy is your thing you can certainly have that too). And the breakfasts are the best!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gersona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A friend with excellent taste recommended this B&B. We were welcomed from the moment we walked through the gate. The room was comfortable and well-appointed. There were get-acquainted happy hours. Breakfasts were delicious and generous and guests sat around swapping travel hints. Staff were eager to share knowledge and guide us to what we wanted to see. And the Condesa neighborhood is delightful in terms of walking and the variety of attractive eating places. When we return to Mexico City, can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at the Red Tree House a few years back that on our next trip to Mexico City in Feb. we decided to stay here again. Beautiful room. Beautiful House. Beautiful people who look after you like family. What could be better?

Room Tip: Rooms for every budget. All look good. Lafayette and Oaxaca Suites give you a bit more elbow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_with_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
747 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 310 in Mexico City
1,309 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 310 in Mexico City
635 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#42 of 310 in Mexico City
310 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Property: The Red Tree House
Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing