We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel experience of my life - no exaggeration!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 138 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience of my life - no exaggeration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

It is with trepidation that I write this review, for fear of too many people discovering the RTH. However, the owners and staff of this amazing oasis, deserve every accolades they receive! Everything about our stay in the RTH was perfect - from our late-night arrival, to the coffee, breakfasts, happy hour, recommendations and interactions with the staff, guests, and the house-dog, Abril. It is a warm and inviting place in a chaotic city. Craig and Jorge have created such a welcoming atmosphere; they could probably advise other service providers owners around the globe on how to run a business with such warm professionalism. Kudos to everyone at the RTH. You will be our home in DF!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeanneinVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
501
126
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This wonderful small hotel is one of the few located in the Condesa/Roma neighborhood, and is very close to a metro stop. My garden room was small but very comfortable, and the guys who work at the hotel - as others have observed - offer fantastic hospitality. The hotel attracts a lot of American, Canadian and European travelers who seem to mostly have a great interest in and love for Mexico. Even as a woman traveling solo I felt safe walking around the neighborhood at night.

Room Tip: I had the Balcon room immediately above the noisy breakfast room, so avoid this garden room unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misgav
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I chose to spend the last two nights of our Mexican trip at The Red Tree House and felt it was a good choice. The guest house, which is quite charming, is located in a very pleasant and safe neighbourhood.

The best thing about staying at the Red Tree House is the very warm hospitality. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful and the hosts go out of their way to please their guests. Guests are invited to have a drink together in the evenings - this way we got to know another couple and ended up going out for dinner together!

The room was okay - attractive but fairly small. Our mattress was very soft – when we mentioned this the next day, it was immediately changed for us. The bathroom was also very small.

The breakfasts were very nice and interesting. The only thing we found lacking was whole wheat bread. Again, we just had to ask and it was supplied the next day.

A very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lops51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Jorge and Craig, along with their terrific team, run a small inn that is close to perfect as you can get. We've stayed there three times, and look forward to many more visits.

Jorge is a perfectionist, always looking to improve the property, fix what he sees as minor flaws (which no one else would notice) and Craig treats all the guests as friends, quick to see that everyone feels at home.

The rooms are lovely, the included breakfasts hearty, the gardens welcoming, but what sets the Red Tree House apart is the warm and welcoming ambience the owners and staff share with every visitor.

We've recommended the inn to many friends, all of whom had experiences close to ours. Just when we thought we were being given "special" treatment at the inn we found every other visitor we know felt the same.



Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackconly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We highly recommend the Red Tree House in Mexico City. It is centrally located in a nice, mostly residential, tree-lined neighborhood with good restaurants, subway, etc nearby. Be sure to take advantage of the breakfast and evening wine/beer time and get to know some of the other guests--remarkable people, all. The staff are ever ready to assist you and make excellent recommendations for sight-seeing. We especially want to commend Alejandro for being so helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed with friends in the Penthouse. It was perfect for two couples. Lots of common space with seating, a dining table and a kitchenette. Although we only used the stove to make tea, the kitchenette appeared to be fully stocked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEMDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcallen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Lovely B&B in a good location. Very nice sheets, filling breakfast with intelligent company, and great hosts, however the bathroom and shower was extremely small in the Milagritos room. I sneezed when near the sink and hit my head on a corner of the tile wall. We had higher hopes for the Red Tree House and will try a different room in the future or a different hotel in DF.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#45 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 305 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#47 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Property: The Red Tree House
Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing