We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Condessa”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 170 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved our 4 days here after a month in San Miguel. The staff were fabulous and so helpful with restaurant suggestions and advice on transportation as well as reservations. The location could not be better. The complimentary cocktails are a wonderful way to exchange travel finds with the guests and are such fun. Forget all the negative information you have heard about Mexico City it is a thriving exciting place. We have already booked next year for four days in March and have booked a garden room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alphatravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

RTH in Mexico is the best B&B ever. I have stayed in many across the USA and NEVER been more pampered than my brief stay at RTH. Arrived late on a flight from the East Coast and was met with a smile and an offer of wine. Boy, I knew it was startuing off great. The room was wonderful, comfortable and homey. WIFI great for checking emails. Location near to a metro stop aslo was great. The breakfast (don't forget the 2nd B) was fabulous with a large selection of items and alwasy a hot Mexican dish as well. Return here? in a minute!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

RTH is my favorite hotel in DF. Location is perfect, best spot in best neighborhood. Staying at the RTH is like staying at a private club, friendly, convivial, and stylish. Ernesto is charming and got us a table at Maximo Bistrot--one of the coveted reservations in Roma/Condesa same day when the restaurant was otherwise full booked. Wow. Atmosphere in the public spaces is lively but not raucous: guests congregate, talk, and drink wine, but at a level that suggests the joyful buzz of life. The rooms have ample glass and face each other across a courtyard, which I thought might lead to a sleepless night -- not so. The drapes in our room - gardenia (2nd floor) provided enough shade.

Room Tip: Go for 2nd floor room, a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdlgto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

There's nothing I can say about the Red Tree House that likely hasn't already been said, but since it's such a special place it deserves another glowing review. My boyfriend and I recently spent 6 nights there, and we were truly sad to leave at the end of our stay. The staff make you feel so welcome that it's akin to staying with family or close friends - I've never been to a B&B that provided an experience as exceptional as this before.

We arrived in Mexico City late in the evening after a long journey (around 11 pm) and were greeted with smiling faces and generous hospitality. Our room was located in the Branch of the Tree (just across the street from the main house), but we had all the same amenities available to us. This included 24-hour security and service, a delicious complimentary breakfast (with local fruit, coffee, freshly squeezed juices, cereal, breads, and a Mexican special every morning). There is wi-fi throughout the space and computers and guidebooks for guests to use. Every evening, wine is served in the common area for guests/staff to mingle and get to know one another.

Our room was on the top floor of The Branch of the Tree (room was called La Luna, I believe), had beautiful modern finishes, and a large terrace complete with table/chairs and our own lime tree. It felt luxurious and comfortable - like something you'd see in a boutique hotel. The location of the place is perfect - there are a myriad of casual or trendy restaurants within a few blocks, a metro station is nearby (great way to get around the city!), or staff will gladly call you a taxi on your way out in the mornings.

Our trip to Mexico City was wonderful and staying at The Red Tree House made it even more memorable. A heartfelt thank you to everyone there for your hospitality. We will be back to Mexico City and there is no question where we will stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed in the Red Tree House for 5 nights after Easter.

I arrived tired after a long journey, but was greeted with a warm smile from the staff and given a glass of wine! This was typical of the type of service I enjoyed throughout my stay, all the staff were consistently helpful and friendly. I got great tips from the staff about where to go, and what tours to do. You get a cooked breakfast every morning and they were excellent.

I think the thing I appreciated the most about the Red Tree House is that the staff work hard to create a friendly, inclusive atmosphere. You are introduced to other guests and breakfasts are served at a communal table where you can discuss your plans for the day with the other people staying at the hotel. As a solo traveller it was great to be able to socialise with others and pick up tips about where to go in the city.

The location is excellent, with many wonderful restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband, two teenage boys and I stayed here for 7 nights in March. From the initial email communications, to the welcome when we arrived to the outstanding service of the amazing staff each and every day and the beautiful accommodations, we felt well taken care of and part of the Red Tree House Family...Comparable to any 5 star hotel. Every single detail has been meticulously chosen to make you feel comfortable, welcome and at home. Like you were visiting a best friend in Mexico City. The Penthouse and cabana was perfect for the four of us. Beautiful furnishings, comfortable beds, art and fresh flowers truly make this B&B feel like home. Breakfast in the dining area/patio each morning was full of great selections always including a homemade Mexican warm dish...and awesome coffee! And the amazing interesting people we met while we stayed there every day during breakfast and in the evening over a glass of wine/beer in the courtyard or the living room made the trip even more memorable. All of the staff is fantastic, answering questions, offering restaurant recommendations, arranging tours, taxis the lovely ladies making and serving breakfast. They are each so friendly, personable and genuinely helpful. One of our wonderful hosts was Victor, who even took an evening out of his busy schedule, to escort 10 of us guests to a soccer match! Thank you Victor for such a memorable night! Thank you Craig and Jorje (and April, the resident Lab ;-)) for creating such a beautiful B&B. We loved every minute of our stay. Can't wait to come back. Cheers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Red Tree House is an amazing experience in accomodation in Mexico City. First of all, it is in the charming area of La Condesa with quiet boulevards, nearby restaurants, parks, boulevards and fountains. The building itself is beautiful with cheerful coloured walls, balconies and lots of flowers.The hosts, who speak fluent English, are extremely helpful and welcoming, even as far as providing welcoming drinks and social introductions in their courtyard full of luxuriant plants and comfortable seating. A livingroom area has a piano, sofa, and computer with wifi. Between the gardens and living room there is almost no need to go out. Breakfast had great variety and always featured a delicious Mexican dish. My only regret is that I only stayed three nights and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: My room was on the inner courtyard and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronwfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
213 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Condesa
Casa Mali by Dominion
Casa Mali by Dominion
#46 of 312 in Mexico City
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Condesa Haus
Condesa Haus
#5 of 170 in Mexico City
376 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
#11 of 170 in Mexico City
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: $95 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing