We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 166 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's not often that you see a place with such consistently excellent reviews, but this place really deserves it. The hosts were friendly, accommodating and full of "insider" tips on Mexico City, along with recommendations for getting the most out of the usual touristy outings (Anthropology Museum, Teotihuacan etc.). They know great food in their City - from street food to nicer restaurants throughout the Condesa, Roma and even Coyacan.

The location is on the edge of the Condesa - close to the up-and-coming hipster Roma neighborhood which was within walking distance and felt very safe at night. The other guests at the Red Tree House were all very interesting, low key, traveler types of all ages and the nightly drinks were a great way to meet new people and share stories.

Highly recommend the Red Tree House as a base for any Mexico City trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic place, great location and super friendly staff! We stayed in the branch of the red tree which was across the street, equally good! Great rooms, neighborhood is nice and packed with nice bars!

We would recommend it to all Mexico city visitors!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankH1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My stay at The Red Tree House was beyond excellent. Traveling as a single woman, I found the location convenient, the staff incredibly hospitable and warm and the room, itself, comfortable, clean and, well, just plain lovely. Breakfast was a wonderful time to sit and enjoy a delicious meal, as well as mingle with other guests. The staff were incredibly helpful and offered great tips about the city. I highly recommend this B&B to any traveler staying in the D.F.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancityD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Red Tree House for 6 Nights in October and it was by far the best
place we have ever stayed. This is all because of the wonderfull staff and the friendly people of Mexico City. We felt like we were part of the Red Tree House family as soon as we were met at the door by Ernesto. The rest is history, and I highly recommend staying here if you want to experience the real Mexico!

I could go on for a long time about this place, but as you read on you can see that I would only be repeating what has already been said.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rj1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Most of the reviews are true, great location, great facilities, great food but the most is great people and service, you feel like home when you step in the red tree house.

All the staff, can't name them all, including the lovely Abril is there to welcome and pamper you in every way possible. From the nice reception to the afternoon coffee cup, you feel their hospitality.
Outstanding breakfast made by Guille every morning was the best.

So if you are planning in visiting Mexico City don't hesitate to stay at the red tree house, great service, great food, greatest people and everything at a good price.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Oaxaca suite, nice and cozy, it has a small living room and a great view of the pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfernandez76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I should have written a review for the RTH a month ago when i came back home but i havent gotten the time to write one yet. Truthfuly i am sad that i am not currently over there writing the review ( because i would have liked staying there still).

I stayed with my boyfriend in the RTH for 6 days. We stayed in the room called- la gardenia. We had a beautiful little balcony that looked over the house's garden.

I will never forget coming into the red tree house for the first time. After a long day of flying from cancun to mexico city and taking the taxi we arrived with our backpacks (of 2 weeks) to the variegated house. As we stepped in we felt the warmth of the place which was given by the personality of the people AND Abril!

The reason I wouldnt forget that first time is because all of the other times we stepped back in, after a long day of traveling, we felt that. The hosts were so welcoming and generous.

They always offered us tea and sometimes even food. We were there during independence day but that day i had fever and stayed in the house. The hosts were having a party and invited to eat pozole but unfortunately i was so sick to even join but the next day they offered me some and were extremely nice!

The whole experience in the rth was just amazing and i will never forget it - the delicious breakfast meals, the intresting and genuine people, and the marvelous place!

Another last thing- the last day we were there they offered us to leave our suitcases and at night they let us use another showerroom before we went to the airport!

Thank you rth! We apperciate all your hard work and hope to be back soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

it is truly the real deal and a great deal too!!! the lack of pretension, the impeccable upkeep and maintenance is to be highlighted as well. their hospitality is sincere and left me in near disbelief. i thought i'd see one slip up, one area that was neglected, something, but there was nothing. the cleaning crew was pleasant and worked liked busy bees, silently shining, sweeping, mopping, serving every single day. changing out the nearly frail flowers. also, there was never one knock on the door "housekeeping" they don't operate that way.

for the most inscrutible or discerning traveler, they may not like the kitchen towels on the floor upon arrival, this is so you don't slip. abril, lives there and she's the most lovable, clean smelling dog so you must love her or at least tolerate quiet dogs.

there is a great mix of people too, austrailians, indians, brazilians, californians all with very exciting and/or interesting occupations. i've not even touched on the location or the delicious breakfasts! you have to experience for yourself.

p.s. rick bayless, chicago chef and 'ambassador' of all things mexico will be staying there in february, yet again, putting the red tree house on the map!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agent99712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
194 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
961 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
#10 of 166 in Mexico City
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: $95 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing