We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Japanese restaurant in Mexico City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suntory

Suntory
Reserve with OpenTable
Suntory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 4,179 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Torres Adalid / Magdalena
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in Mexico City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

After many years this is still the best Japanese restaurant in the city and one of the best restaurants among the huge selection of fine dinning places in Mexico City. The quality of the food that is served is excellent, you won't regret coming to this place. The atmosphere is all Japanese with private rooms for small parties and a common room for the traditional Teppanyaki. On Saturdays and Sundays they offer a special meal which is great if you don't know what to order, it Includes a delicious entree, a Teppanyaki (My suggestion is Premium Rib Eye, it's excellent. If you don't mind the money you can upgrade it to Kobe Rib Eye) and dessert. This place is pricey but it's totally worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    125
    45
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive, but wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just went to the second location in Mexico City, after being unable to book the original. We found the thin sliced Rib-eye just and everything else just as yummy. The view was lovely and our waiter extreemly nice. We paid over 400 pesos each for our rib-eye, quite pricey - but it was so good, we will do it again. Our total bill was 1300 pesos for two people (we also ordered mixed tempura and fried rice), but we only drank tea.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
323 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quality that prevails, bet tuna tacos ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Its been al os 20 years that i have been going to this restaurant. Its quality and service make it a classic. Ask for thr tuna teppanyaki in tacos and you will come back again and again. The ribe eye teppan and thr roil dinamita (sushi) are just incredible. The clams in butter are special too. This keeps on being one of my favorite restaurants in the world. Try the mexican style sy sauce with lime and the chiles toreados,

Helpful?
Thank kcanavan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México, México
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The oldest and most classic Japanese Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great food, the one in mid town excellent view of a Japanese Garden, private rooms great for a very romantic dinner or private dinner, excellent classic japanese dishes.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeColoniale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Delicious, yet doesn't come cheap.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The restaurant is beautiful. The food is delicious. Great service. Top-notch restaurant. However, the portions as previously mentioned in other reviews is quite small in comparison to other restaurants in the same price range like "El Japones." The food is on the pricey plan on spending at least $200 USD for a dinner for four without wine and around $300 USD with decent drinks. Overall, I'd highly recommend this but there are alternatives. -M V

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suntory also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Suntory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing