We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Mexican Style”
Review of Lampuga Condesa

Lampuga Condesa
Reserve with OpenTable
Lampuga Condesa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #181 of 4,523 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Condesa
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Seafood Mexican Style”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On the recommendation of our hosts at our B&B, we went to Lampuga for dinner. We found the restaurant very amenable to our request to split our appetizer and our entree. It was a good thing we adopted this strategy, since the entree was very substantial. Everything we ate was delicious. We had a tuna appetizer and a salmon main course, perfectly prepared and presented.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    95
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good tucker”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, great meals, beautiful setting. Can,t say enough. I had fish tacos, husband had duck tacos. And everything else was good also. Very reasonably priced for a meal in an elegant setting. When we left I left my iPad there and the head waiter came running out of the restaurant to give it back to me. Too kind. This place is highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank MissCPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“two memorable meals at Lampuga Condesa”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wow - we just returned from the DF, and without a doubt the two favorite meals of our ten day stay were our Saturday night dinners at Lampuga. The first night, 8 of us (including a 4 yr old) walked in and were able to get a nice table because it was already a bit late. We were all quite hungry, and started ordering aggressively. The fresh mango margaritas helped out a bit, as did the nice selection of beer, but we are all about the food and the treasures that came out of this kitchen were utterly delicious. We ate mostly fish and seafood, but I heard wonderful things about some meat tacos from the other end of our table. The Marlin tacos, mixed tostadas (tuna, crab and octopus), seafood with spicy rice in a broth, whole snapper, etc, etc, were all fresh, creatively prepared and extremely delicious. The salads and vegetables were also first rate. This restaurant reminded me a little of a Mexican version of Aqua Grill in my native NYC, but it didn't have the attitude, long wait, or high prices. It does have a great atmosphere and vibe, and we couldn't wait to come back. (Actually, it is much more like another favorite of mine, the Matunick Oyster Bar in RI - also a can't miss spot for ocean and farm to table food.) So the next Saturday, adding 2 serious foodies to our group, we made a reservation and had another wonderful meal, with a custom kiddie meal for the 4 yr old. The Chef graciously came out and spoke with us in English, and then sent out a wonderful complementary desert for us to share - wow, what a great experience - this is one gringo who can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OriginalBigmetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

place for either lunch or dinner.You can stop by at any time of the day or evening.The tostada de Tun is to die for

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just spent three nights in La Condesa, and of those three nights the meal at Lampuga was the best. Despite the fact that the restaurant name is equivalent to Mahi-Mahi, we didn't order that dish. We started with the highly-recommended Tuna Tostadas, and they were almost a meal in themselves. We were somewhat surprised that they were served cold, but they were very tasty.

After the tostada, neither my wife nor I could eat an entire entree, so we agreed on the Salmon and split the order. The server was very accommodating, and our salmon arrived with two plates. It was delicious! Served simply with a coating of butter, it was prepared perfectly and the portion, once again, was ample.

The wine and beer selection was more than adequate, the atmosphere pleasant, and the service was attentive and responsive to our wants and needs, despite our very limited knowledge of the language. Overall, a very enjoyable dining experience. When we return to Mexico City, Lampuga will be on our itinerary.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigPyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lampuga Condesa also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lampuga Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing