We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Open-plan living-dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open-plan living-dining area
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Open-plan living-dining area
Living room
Living room
Open-plan living/dining room
Bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Bedroom II
Closet BR II
Bathroom II
Bathroom I
Kitchen
Kitchen
Hallway
Building across the street
View from living room
Building entrance
Elevator
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mwanza201...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The apartment is perfectly located in the historic center within easy walking access to museums, historic sites, restaurants and shopping. Petra is that rare hostess who is exceptionally knowledgeable about Mexican history, culture and the city’s gifts. Unfortunately she had a fall just before she was to take us on a tour to Teotihuacan, but her friend Marlene, who is trained in archaeology, filled in beautifully at the last minute.

The apartment is large, comfortable, and splendidly equipped with a full kitchen, a washer and dryer and many other amenities. Petra’s helpful assistant, Sisi, thoughtfully provided everything from wine and other drinks, to fruit, and fresh pan dulce. Petra spent a good deal of time sharing her knowledge of the city with us, and by the end of our stay, we felt we had made a special new friend. This was truly top of the line in the best possible meaning of the word.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2018
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and I want to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review. I hope I will see you again in Mexico City.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Jo P
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location ✔️✔️Accommodations ✔️✔️ Hospitality✔️✔️✔️!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Bolívar Suites for 6 nights, what a lovely place! The photos and the actual apartment match up perfectly, the kitchen is super equipped, the location is perfect, especially for first time visitors, and the hospitality could not have been better - a plate of pastries from the bakery downstairs awaits your arrival and Petra has made incredible recommendations for sights, restaurants, museums, activities, everything!

A true pleasure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Thank you, Mary Jo, for such a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed the apartment. And meeting you was a great pleasure and fun. I am already looking forward to your next visit. There's still a lot to do and to see in this great city. UN abrazo,
Petra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvain d
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it is as the ower describes it.”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My son and I stayed at Bolivar 18 for four days during the Easter long week end. You have nice views from the apartment, A lot of space. It is well furnished and the beds are comfortable. Very good aminities The location is near by interestig features of Centro historico Mexico. The subway station is a 4 minutes walk. Mrs Fisher is a caring manager and she makes sure that you are comfortable and that you feel at home

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you, Sylvain, for your positive review. We are glad you and your son enjoyed your stay.Please consider B18 your home in Mexico City. You are welcome any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese D
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spacious apartment in a great location in the historic district of Mexico City.”
Reviewed December 26, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This lovely, spacious, modern & secure 2 bedroom apartment had everything we needed in the historic centre of Mexico City. Walk to museums, cathedral, Aztec pyramid, restaurants, bars & shops. The apartment has 2 bathrooms, laundry, full kitchen & 2 double rooms. Our host, Petra, also provides personalised tours - we did the waking tour of historic Mexico City, a day trip out of town to the Teuchitkan Pyramid and had a Mexican cooking lesson in our apartment (after a visit to the market to buy ingredients). We packed a great deal into one week in Mexico City and will stay here again when in town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2016
Thank you, Therese, for your lovely review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, including your tours. Yes, you did a lot. What energy! And what good cooks you turned out to be! Ceci had nothing but praise for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnTompki...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful loft style apartment in the centre of Mexico City”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Very good central location and excellent standard of accommodation. Petra was very friendly and helpful and also arranged a taxi to the airport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable good quality accommodation.
Liked least: The TV was in the bedroom, would have preferred it in the living area.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
I am glad you liked your stay in Mexico City and hope that the rest of your trip was enjoyable also. You were great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KR_and_KT
California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Memorable first visit to Mexico City”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We wanted to visit Latin America for awhile but have not due to fear of safety issues that we heard about our neighbors to the south. So other than a couple cruise ship stops and a destination holiday in a Cancun resort, we had been seeking to quench our cultural and historical thirst in Europe instead. We just spent 4 days in Mexico City and had a great time and could not feel any safer if we were at home.

This had a lot to do with our host/ apartment manager. We did our homework and looked at different reviews on tripadvisor for ideas and recommendations. We decided to take a chance on a newly posted apartment in the heart of the Historic District of DF (Mexico City) that had no reviews. We picked this apartment mainly because of the central location, but the clear and (now we know) very accurate pictures of the apartment helped. Once decided, we contacted Petra, the manager of the apartment and were immediately impressed by her professionalism as displayed in her prompt email responses. We made arrangements for airport pickup, drop off and excursion to Teorihuacan with Petra prior to our arrival.

Our plane arrived 30 min early. Our airport pickup was exactly at 8 am as indicated in Petra's email. After fighting through AM traffic, we were greeted by Petra at the apartment and given a tour of the apartment (which is more spacious than shown in the fotos). We were impressed by the cleanliness and decor.

The next day, we had our priorly arranged excursion to Teotihuacan. Although Petra suddenly caught a bit of a flu bug since we had seen her the day before, she (and driver) gave us a very private and personalized tour that suited our travel style. We had wonderful conversations in the car to and from Teotihuacan. At the site, Petra first showed us the surrounding areas that we would otherwise miss. Her experience as a journalist added so much depth to what our eyes were taking in. Our questions were answered with honest facts and clearly indicated, thoughtful opinions. Although we were antsy to see the major pyramids, we came to appreciate them more after we were shown the smaller pyramids and mazes of housing off the main road (avenue of the dead) which gave context to the larger structures. Teotihuacan was STUNNING visually of course. Afterward, because we told her we love street food and enjoy "the daily life" experience, Petra took us to a market place in San Juan-Teotihuacan where we had made to order quesadillas and freshly pressed juice. It was so much fun. And tasty! Petra has wonderful contacts and staff for tours, info or experiences in Mexico.

For the rest of our weekend in DF, we would check in with Petra for ideas of how to spend our days and where to eat and what to buy for gifts. This is where her personal experience--after living in Mexico for 30 years--really shone. The restaurant recommendations were spot on accurate to our taste (down to the special dishes not to be missed and portion to order). Instead of telling us what to buy, we were recommended to the Mexican folks art museum (to get ideas of what is culturally relevant) and then to the artesian market where we went nuts and had to leave lest we decided to bring everything home with us.
(There was a minor fee for the recommendations and planning. But it was well worth it. We spent one day on our own, stumping about this gigantic city like two idiots at the mercy of Starbuck's free wireless connections to update maps and info. Although we often don't mind looking like idiots discovering foreign cities, we did not make good use of time on our own without the help of our host. Oh and Petra lives on the same block, literally and was easy to reach through phone or email while there).

At no time in our 4 days in DF did we feel unsafe. Mexico City was such an affordable and accessible city.

There were some minor things that we encountered that were not perfectly to our liking. We had some problem with the phone and the labeling of hot and cold water. But really that was it!

Apartment - Pro Tip:
1. hot water in bathroom sink does not run fast enough to kick in the instant hot water heater. But the shower does.
2. Hot water in kitchen sink seem to need to turn opposite than one would think.

We loved the apartment. It even had the always manned elevator man to bring you up and down. We were on the Fifth floor but only used the elevator upon arrival with bags. Otherwise we preferred to walk up to work off a little of the great food we ate. Never seen anyone else on the floor. Quiet building.

We apologize for the long comment. But we just had such a wonderful time and wanted to highly recommend our host and this particular apartment. You can't go wrong if looking for a enjoyable, individualized and memorable experience in Mexico City Historic Centro district

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Cleanliness & responsiveness of Host (Petra)
Liked least: While did not bother us, the bedroom has windows (covered) that are exposed to hallway & light in general hallway do tend to light even at night. Keep in mind though we never seen anyone else on this floor for the other suite/apartment on the floor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2015
What a wonderful and detailed review from the two of you! Thank you so very much. All the compliments you sent to me (your host) I must send back because you really were the perfect guests. Fun too. Our excursion to Teotihuacan was memorable for me as well because of your enthusiasm. We seem to enjoy the same things. So come back and we'll do some more exploring. Meanwhile I wish you safe and happy traveling wherever you go.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;