We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, homely atmosphere”
Review of Bistro Arlequin

Bistro Arlequin
Ranked #432 of 4,367 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, homely atmosphere”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic little bistro, and delicious food!
Must try's are the Onion broth, the cheese and tomato tarte, and the beef Bourgingnone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fdiaza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    69
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico DF
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ze gud and ze bad of ze french”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've been a few times to Bistro Arlequin with friends who enjoy specific dishes and the authentic setting... Including the poor french-like service. The food can be good (medallions in Grand Marnier sauce, although adapted to well done mexican standards which would horrify any frenchie), it can also be bad (medallions in "bourgignonne" sauce), prices are strangely reasonable, but the service invariably disappoints; while a couple of the waiters tried to help the others couldn't care less.

We arrived 20 minutes before opening time, could we wait on the table? Impossible, the staff is eating... And when opening time arrived, was our table ready? Impossible... Some may find this quaint, it might also appeal to Mexican masochism, I find it pathetic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SenZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara,Mexico
Level Contributor
251 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We sat outside and the place was very neighborly; however the wine by the glass was poor and dishes not very spceial; we heard from our local neighbors this was regarded as a fair restaurant and that about describes it.
The location in Polanca is good but for a bistro, the waiers were very average and the food similar while the wine was poor and small glassesw were ued unless you bought a bottle.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekFGuadalajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best french food for the value... great ambiance”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A small restaurant with no valet parking, but with great french food, and good prices. A fairly good wine list. it`s always packed so if you can reserve ahead

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evelyne_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent little French Bistro in Mexico city must give it a go”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We thought that we would try some French food while we were in Mexico city and it was walking distance from our Hotel, The Marques. We didn't have dinner but we did have some Brie cheese and bread and a bottle of wine, we communicated enough to get that order in. No one speaks English Im sure just Spanish and french, but it all worked out well, the wine prices were reasonable and service was pretty good, this is not a real fine establishment, but its very comfortable. I can not wait to go back and have a good meal there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Arlequin also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bistro Arlequin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing