We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming Setting, Delicious Meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matisse

Matisse
Reserve with OpenTable
Matisse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #372 of 3,817 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Condesa
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming Setting, Delicious Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, Matisse Condesa is in a lovely old house, so rooms are set apart from each other. There is also outside garden seating. My husband--in a small pink room with only three other tables-- and I had a great meal with fine, friendly service--mine was chicken stuffed with figs in a piquant peanut sauce--delicious! Desserts heavy on the calories but worth it. Charming for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    58
    30
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in Colonia Condesa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were introduced to this place by Mexican friends and loved it. It is located in lively Colonia Condesa in an old house that has been restored. The menu was offered many delicious options. The service was also excellent. I also appreciated the fact that it was quiet enough to allow for conversation and that they had a dedicated non-smoking section.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Well_traveled_c0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
137 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“lovely option in the center of things in la condesa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were just wandering on Av. Amsterdam, browsing restaurants, when we passed by Matisse, glancing at the menu. At first we thought it might be a snobby French place, but the maitre d' saw us looking and invited us in for a look around. He explained that this had been a dilapidated very old building that was rescued and turned into a restaurant. It is therefore "shaped" like a house, with tables filling the interior courtyard and several small rooms downstairs, and then a terrace and several other rooms upstairs including a large dining room overlooking the street. The restaurant preserves many attractive architectural details and has been decorated in bright and cheerful Mexican colors. The reasonably priced menu included some fairly creative spins on traditional Mexican dishes. In downstairs front room is a bakery, apparently a major attraction (the conchas are said to be legendary).
We were really charmed by the place and came back later for dinner, sitting in the courtyard by a beautiful fountain. While my tamarind margarita was good, house wines offered by the glass were better (we tried two and liked them both - the better being something Chilean whose name I can't recall). Food was very good - we tried a chicken breast stuffed with figs in a peanut sauce that was especially tasty, along with a filet stuffed with goat cheese in a nice pasilla chile sauce. For dessert we tried a pine nut cake, which was surprisingly light and also very good.
There were plenty of other items on the menu that we'd love to go back and try - we weren't hungry enough to try any appetizers, soups or salads, but we noted that an option might have been to sample a few smaller dishes rather than go for two main courses.
Service from both the maitre d', who was especially personable, and our waiter were excellent. And, the atmosphere can't be beat.
Although la Condesa in general and Av. Amsterdam in particular are full of dining options, we will be back to try this one again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank profegringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excelent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I bought 8 menus for a dinner I gave at home and it was delicious ! And the service was terrific !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal in la Condesa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I visited the Condesa branch of this restaurant last weekend for a peaceful, pleasant lunch. I've heard that it's especially popular for breakfast -- and the inviting pastries and baked goods for sale in the bakery at the front of the restaurant suggest why. Our meal was well-presented, service was professional, and the courtyard dining very pleasant. I've eaten a lot of meals at unmemorable restaurants in la Condesa. This is one to remember and return to.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matisse also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing