We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fancy but not for indian lovers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tandoor

Tandoor
Ranked #274 of 3,831 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Leibnitz
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fancy but not for indian lovers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was my first indian restaurant in Mexico city.
It was good but not what i expected: no enought spicy and no rice with your entree. You have to order it.
Otherwise, the service was quite good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Djeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    66
    26
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite a top notch Indian restaurant but acceptable for MEX where there aren't too many”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

I went to the Tandoor with my family on a Saturday evening. It is Pakistani-owned but strategically positioned as "Pakistani and Indian" ;-) for obvious reasons. It features dishes from the Indian and Pakistani portions of the Punjab - something worth pointing out lest Mexicans think this is representative of all Indian cuisine, which is as vast and diverse as Mexican cuisine.

The Polanco location is great adding to the diversity of the ecletic neighborhood and the restaurant atmosphere in itself is not bad. We were seated immediately at a good table. We ordered the aloo samosas and vegetable pakoras to start with. The samosas came out on the oily side, while the pakoras were not bad but a tad salty. Some in my party also ordered mango lassis which they said were not bad. For the main course we ordered tandoori chicken and several dishes - chicken tikka masala, butter chicken, almond mutton curry and a dal-spinach dish. We also ordered a lamb biryani and several kinds of naans.

If I decided to go back I would stick to the biryani and the tandoori chicken. The curries, while they were made with reasonably good quality chicken and lamb had a taste and texture to them like they were made from cornstarch or mashed potato gravy. The spice level was less than ideal and it seemed like it was made from a recipe that emphasizes speed over authenticity. The naans were ok but a bit on the drier side. A chapati I ordered was made with whole wheat flour and was good.

All in all a place to consider if you happen to be in MEX and are craving for some Indian or Punjabi food to be precise. Service was not bad but there was an extremely high pressure sell to make us try a chocolate, cardamom cake which we politely turned down. The tab was around MXP 1800 for a party of 5 adults and 2 children with drinks.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtrvlnfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“i will give them a 7”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

many of the spices traditionally used in these dishes are not easy to find in mexico. So i think generally the food was a good attempt but i really wanted it to be more hot. Tumeric was overused and the mango sauce was revolting but all in all a great attempt considering the limited resources in mexico

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank energygoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth a shot..if u don't know Indian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Ordered the most basic of dishes..alu mutter, moong dal, onion nan, chapati and jeera lassi..lassi was too sour, would have really liked some authentic tandoori roti as the name suggests but it didn't feel/taste like it, chapati was decent but way too thick and the dal and alu mutter..well..way too much haldi (turmeric)..both were well cooked and fresh but not the real deal. Still..quite a relief to get some Indian food in a while. Like I said, if u don't know Indian food then it is worth a shot.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
“Tasty but small and pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

The best Indian food that we've had in Mexico so far!

However, portions were very small and overpriced (especially the rice -- 80 pesos). Chai was disappointing because although there was evidence of cardamom it could not be detected by the taste buds.
The quality of the food, price and atmosphere were comparable with a typical Indian restaurant in the UK but the portions much smaller.
The service was good and we didn't have to wait long for anything. Like many Indians it has loads of veggie options.
Suggestion: print out the voucher of 10% discount from their website (it effectively saves you the tip)

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing