We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast”

Restaurante El Cardenal
Ranked #6 of 4,236 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centro Historico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Terrific Mexican breakfast - went three times in a week. Great coffee and known for hot chocolate. Must go if near Zocalo.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,694
    1,194
    213
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
161 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great traditional brunch, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

A great place for breakfast or brunch in the Hilton Reforma Hotel. It starts with great hot chocolate (some of the best I've had), accompanied by traditional Mexican pastries and breads. Our table sampled many excellent egg dishes. I had enchiladas with eggs, potatoes, onions and a wonderful green sauce lightly. The refried beans and chips were out of those world. Cost was about 200 pesos, not bad. Service was efficient and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mez1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great stop for lunch in Centro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were referred to this restaurant by our tour guide and were really pleased with our experience. It is a little high end with attentive service, excellent recommendations, and great food.
The place was full of locals with a few tourists when we went there mid afternoon. Both of us enjoyed the food and the wine. The mole was the bet I have tasted in Mexico!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank darmstro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
222 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I really love this restaurant since in it you can really find traditional Mexican food. For breakfast first you will be served a thick freshly made chocolate with delicious froth, delicious sweet bread, which is some of Mexico's specialities and then you can order of a wide varieties of eggs or other dishes.

Lunch and dinner are both worth going. All your meals will be served with freshly made hot tortillas, the food is really hich quality and it reminds me of the flavors of my Grandmother's cooking. Now there is a branch in the south of México City which is good to know if you are visiting San Angel, Cucuilco or UNAM.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You have not been in Mexico City, if you haven't been at Cardenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Cardenal is a landmark of Mexican cusine. All dishes are simple and sophisticated at the same time, this is a busy spot at all times, and for a reason. Family owned, Cardenal is a must go for all people that visit Mexico City and want to experience a high end local cuisine. A little loud, very good decor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Cardenal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Restaurante El Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing