We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, lovely interior, fantastic croissant”

Restaurante El Cardenal
Ranked #7 of 4,433 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro Historico
Davis, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent service, lovely interior, fantastic croissant”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ate breakfast there after a 30 minute wait on the weekend of Mother's Day. Many tables were filled with well-dressed families with grandmothers (and an occasional grandfather). The breads are baked on site and are fabulous. My husband's carrot-orange juice (fresh) was excellent. My fruit plate was rather ordinary as was my scrambled eggs with a Spanish sausage (made on site) and some rather tasteless refried beans. The place was special because of the fantastic service and breads. We were treated like royalty by skillful, experienced wait staff.

When we left, the line outside was even longer, and even at the end of the day, this restaurant had quite a few people waiting outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaL246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,803
    1,245
    230
    52
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have eaten at El Cardenal on several occasions and have enjoyed my meal each time. The service is five-star and the presentation is beautiful. It is elegant without being stuffy. A "must see" for an experience in fine cuisine and dining. Arrive as they close around 6:00 pm as I recall. Many times there is a waiting list, but worth the time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and such good Aguas Frescas”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate here for a late lunch on a Sunday. They don't serve dinner on Sundays so we closed the place down. We ordered so much food for 5 people and everything we ate was terrific. Service was top notch, friendly and accurate. The restaurant was in a cool looking old building. They had nice bathrooms. Highlights were the ant eggs, tongue tacos, cactus (nopal) and the Aguas Frescas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank manofchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in DF!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Local best kept secret. Some friends took us here while visiting and it was definitely worth it. You may need a reservation and there is always a wait. You'll see people lined up outside of the building. But it's worth the wait. The food is good, as is the atmosphere. Get there early, sign up at the door, then walk around downtown a bit while you wait. Just don't wander too far or you'll lose your spot. We waited about 1 hour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“white tablecloths”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place was fabulous, great service, food and ambiance. Crowded with happy people, not too expensive for the whole experience and I would definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Cardie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Cardenal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Restaurante El Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing