We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent service, lovely interior, fantastic croissant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante El Cardenal

Restaurante El Cardenal
Ranked #5 of 3,611 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centro Historico
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent service, lovely interior, fantastic croissant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ate breakfast there after a 30 minute wait on the weekend of Mother's Day. Many tables were filled with well-dressed families with grandmothers (and an occasional grandfather). The breads are baked on site and are fabulous. My husband's carrot-orange juice (fresh) was excellent. My fruit plate was rather ordinary as was my scrambled eggs with a Spanish sausage (made on site) and some rather tasteless refried beans. The place was special because of the fantastic service and breads. We were treated like royalty by skillful, experienced wait staff.

When we left, the line outside was even longer, and even at the end of the day, this restaurant had quite a few people waiting outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaL246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,269
    1,020
    188
    46
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have eaten at El Cardenal on several occasions and have enjoyed my meal each time. The service is five-star and the presentation is beautiful. It is elegant without being stuffy. A "must see" for an experience in fine cuisine and dining. Arrive as they close around 6:00 pm as I recall. Many times there is a waiting list, but worth the time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and such good Aguas Frescas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate here for a late lunch on a Sunday. They don't serve dinner on Sundays so we closed the place down. We ordered so much food for 5 people and everything we ate was terrific. Service was top notch, friendly and accurate. The restaurant was in a cool looking old building. They had nice bathrooms. Highlights were the ant eggs, tongue tacos, cactus (nopal) and the Aguas Frescas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank manofchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in DF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Local best kept secret. Some friends took us here while visiting and it was definitely worth it. You may need a reservation and there is always a wait. You'll see people lined up outside of the building. But it's worth the wait. The food is good, as is the atmosphere. Get there early, sign up at the door, then walk around downtown a bit while you wait. Just don't wander too far or you'll lose your spot. We waited about 1 hour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“white tablecloths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place was fabulous, great service, food and ambiance. Crowded with happy people, not too expensive for the whole experience and I would definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Cardie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Cardenal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Restaurante El Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing