We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Top place in Mexico city for seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Contramar

Contramar
Ranked #4 of 3,611 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Condesa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top place in Mexico city for seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Best place in Mexico City for seafood and mescal... A must go!, But need to book if you want to get a table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    181
    45
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
183 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Busy. Fast. Furious. But good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Whew... We went at 5pm on a Tuesday which is typically a quiet time in a restaurant around these parts. Not so here. The place was mobbed with almost every table taken. We were lucky we didn't have to wait for a table.
But when we sat down, we were infested with waiters who wanted to take our order mucho pronto, before we even had a chance to really look at the menu, and which was given to us in Spanish.
Ever try to order from a menu that looks like the Rosetta Stone? Good luck.
Well, we ordered our food after tossing darts at the menu and it came quicker than a burger at In and Out. The food was much better however. No complaints there.
Would have liked to enjoy my meal at a more leisurely pace and while there was nothing tranquillo about it, I'd go back. Especially when in a hurry!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wherez_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

AWESOME LUNCH. Great food and supper service. Place is a must visit. Everything we ate was really good. This was a memorable and amazingly reasonably priced meal. Thanks

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Notorius66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate at the bar because we did not make a reservation. You can get a table by 2 pm.
Delicious tostadas, tacos, and a Pampano so fresh and well prepared. Don't miss the desserts fig and creammmmmhhhhh. Superb coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Go early to obtain a seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very good seafood in a large setting....lucky for that...it fills up fast. We shared ceviche and it was very well done. We also had the house specialty...fish with two sauces. A good place to have fresh seafood in the heart of Mexico City....go early for lunch so you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contramar also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Contramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing