We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great sea food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Contramar

Contramar
Ranked #4 of 3,596 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Condesa
Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Located in La Condesa , this is a must for every tourist. Great food, great ambience, after having lunch you can always visit "La glorieta de los Cibeles":

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank IvanMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    180
    45
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We were not WOWED!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Living 1 block from Contramar and I finally had lunch there with an friend from Chicago. It's a buzzing kind of place on a Saturday. We started with an order of ceviche, which my friend enjoyed, but I didn't. My 'atun de Contramar' was fine, cooked nicely (medium), but it was the only thing on the plate. NO side and it looked lonely. Our white wine was fantastic though, from Argentina's Mendoza region. My friends four different tacos turned out to be 5 and he reported them as tasty. All in all, an average meal, but the price was very reasonable.

So, I have a question; why don't waiters thank their customers at restaurants when they receive a tip. THEY ARE TOO FORMAL AND NEVER SAY THANKS. I'M TEMPTED TO NOT TIP AT ALL; THE WAITERS NEVER SAY THANKS. ARE THEY JUST TOO 'FRESA' TO SAY A LITTLE WORD LIKE 'THANKS?' BUGS THE %$#& OUT OF ME. I've lived in DF for years and its the same everywhere............

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SO GOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We sat outside on a lovely warm spring Mexico City day. Great for watching all the elegant people stroll by. Even though the place gets crowded, we didnt feel rushed at all. The staff was friendly, caring and professional. Everything we ate was filled with flavor. Of course we had the raw tuna tostadas. And we shared the fish special -- half rubbed with hot, lively red adobo; half rubbed with cool, refreshing parsley and other herbs. It was heaven. The lemonade was the most refreshing Ive ever had. And then ... the sweet fig tart ... with an amazing cappucino. I wish I could go back tomorrow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best in Mexico City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were there in semana santa, beautiful sunny day and we got a table outside. We had the ceviche, aguachile, fish tacos, caldo de camaron, tostadas, mezcal coktail... everything was amazing!
Great service, kid friendly, just perfect!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kura09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely meal - with a legendary speciality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Tostados de atun. I could eat them forever: sashimi qualty tuna, chipotle mayo, avocado and crispy onion. Helpful staff, nice ceviche, good fish but those tostados stood out - world class.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HighburyJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contramar also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Contramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing