We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“SO GOOD!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Contramar

Contramar
Ranked #7 of 4,105 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Condesa
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SO GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We sat outside on a lovely warm spring Mexico City day. Great for watching all the elegant people stroll by. Even though the place gets crowded, we didnt feel rushed at all. The staff was friendly, caring and professional. Everything we ate was filled with flavor. Of course we had the raw tuna tostadas. And we shared the fish special -- half rubbed with hot, lively red adobo; half rubbed with cool, refreshing parsley and other herbs. It was heaven. The lemonade was the most refreshing Ive ever had. And then ... the sweet fig tart ... with an amazing cappucino. I wish I could go back tomorrow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    215
    54
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best in Mexico City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were there in semana santa, beautiful sunny day and we got a table outside. We had the ceviche, aguachile, fish tacos, caldo de camaron, tostadas, mezcal coktail... everything was amazing!
Great service, kid friendly, just perfect!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kura09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely meal - with a legendary speciality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Tostados de atun. I could eat them forever: sashimi qualty tuna, chipotle mayo, avocado and crispy onion. Helpful staff, nice ceviche, good fish but those tostados stood out - world class.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HighburyJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

A friend and I had lunch there a few days ago. I’ve been here before, and I really like it. The menu is extensive and everything is delicious. We shared the tuna tostadas, the mixed aguachile (with shrimp and fish,) and the fish meatballs. All of that was delicious and amazing. Save room for dessert, since they have a nice selection. The nutella flan was mouthwatering and delicious. More so, it has a cool ambience, the service is good, the neighborhood is nice, and over all, a good experience. Make reservations if you can, it gets very crowded.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geniegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great sea food restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurants has one of e best sea food in Mexico City. You have to get there early because it is always crowded and they are out f some dishes by 4pm. My favorite one is "pescado a la talla" ask for it. It serves more than two people. And for dessert the fig tart and the strawberry dessert. Lively ambience and service. But preferably sit inside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yikesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contramar also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Contramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing