We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beef tacos and jugo de carne”
Review of El Califa

El Califa
Ranked #39 of 4,315 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Condesa
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beef tacos and jugo de carne”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

best beef tacos in town. always a must.perfectly cooked thin beef with great salsa. try also the cheese. and the jugo de carne. clean, fast. friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RestaurantElNene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    192
    69
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must eat here!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The hubs and I are here right now and I have to say...this is a Gringos-died-and-gone-to-heaven-mexican-food-moment! This place is very nice, but not fancy...very casual. The food is amazing (we recommend the cactus leaves and costras). The salsa and guac are fabulous. The service is amazing. Our waiter/ personal butler couldn't do enough for us and the banos are top notch.

Yes, this place is "2 dollar signs" but it's worth it. Basically, if you want authentic upscale "street" food, but don't actually want to sit in the street, then come here :)

Helpful?
Thank charger80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant in Condesa!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Incredible food which I still dream about!! I ended up eating here numerous times during my trip to Mexico City. Try to get here early as it becomes impossible to get a table.

The best restaurant in Condesa hands down!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bring your appetite!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A friend from DF told us to check this place out and it was a perfect stop to fuel up before going out for the evening.

We ordered the avocados slices and then, thinking we were getting street tacos, ordered about 3-4 tacos each. Way too many and we hate to waste, so we ate them any way, they were so good!

Very delicious, especially washed down with a Mexican beer. This is not street food in the sense of other places in the city - this is a fun, hip restaurant with giant tacos! Definitely stop in.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank htothep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best place to get good tacos”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

If you want tasty tacos, you should go to El Califa!
But you have to go before 10 o'clock or it will be difficult to get a table.
If you sit outside, try to get the table exactly in front of the "trompo" (the vertical spit where the meat is stacked), this way you can ask your tacos directly to the cook man!

Helpful?
Thank Lizzete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Califa also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Califa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing