We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Standard for Authentic”
Review of La Casa de Tono

La Casa de Tono
Ranked #17 of 4,367 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Reforma / Zona Rosa
Description: Their food is the best, their service is excellent, and the price is right! Excellent pozole, quesadillas, sopes and flautas.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My Standard for Authentic”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

A suggestion from the concierge at Le Meridien, Casa de Tono has a fast-moving line that blocks the sidewalk. Take a number, and wait surrounded by locals who clearly know bueno comida. Quickly enough, you'll be seated at a table with an inscribed menu. If you think your favorite Mexican place back home is authentic, come here for proper calibration. The highlight was the Posole--I chose a multiple-mystery-meat option, but the veggie option looked delicious (though certainly not organic). Lots of condiments--various hot sauces, oregano, squeeze-bottle of crema, radishes & lime wedges--add to the fun & flavor. Tacos, flautas (larger than I expected) and tostadas provided a great sample of local food in an traditional atmosphere. More than two can eat plus some Bohemia for USD 15.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank InTheMoment_TBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    303
    81
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awsome pozole!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

One of the best meals (and service) I've had in DF. I totally reccommend the place (affordable, clean, fast, nice and delicious), the pozole, the horchata and the flan de leche (best flan I've eaten in a looooong time --- is a dessert BTW----).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mesishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Note: there's multiple restaurants…”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I didn't realise it at first, but this is a chain with about five across Mexico city. We went to the one in Zona Rosa for dinner. Cheap, fast, and good. Recommended! It's right near our hotel so we'll be going back for sure.
It's cheap and cheerful, so probably not somewhere to take a first date, but if you want good Mexican comfort food, cheap, then it hits the spot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TOSOTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, quick service”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

If you want to try something that's traditional Mexican food, then this is the place. Pozole, quesadillas, flautas and more. The service is efficient and kind, the prices are good. Leave some space for dessert, I recommend the flan!

Helpful?
Thank EmMorningstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Que rico sabor!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I have never seen so many waiters in a restaurant before. Food is great, service is fast and the flan of abuelita is divine!!

Helpful?
Thank carlosbiazotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de Tono also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Casa de Tono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing