We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a piece of Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pujol

Pujol
Reserve with OpenTable
Pujol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 4,236 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Horacio
Transit: Metro Polanco
Description: Once again featured on the San Pellegrino list of the "World's 50 Finest Restaurants"—and moving up thirteen spots to number 36—Pujol is Chef Enrique Olvera's extraordinary personal approach to Mexican cuisine, famed for reinvention and ongoing perfectionism, where tradition and contemporary gastronomy live side by side as expressed in culinary techniques both ancient and modern. Using both imagination and delicacy, Olvera recombines Mexico's nearly infinite ingredients and flavors, demonstrating an extraordinary food culture's potential in obsessive detail.
Caeur D Alene
Level Contributor
516 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“It is a piece of Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Pujol is an experience.
Highly recommend to make reservations since there are only 14 tables and its a happening place.

I did not have a reservation and was accommodated between 2 reservations without feeling pressured by the staff. It was very surprising given that usually reservations for weekends get booked 2 weeks in advance. I was lucky.

You arrive in a limo or in a cab and they will open your car door. Friendly and sharp employees who seem very genuine in making you feel special.

Be prepared to be pampered. Thy just don't stop coming up with ways to surprise you. Every small dish they bring to the table is crafted to perfection in taste and presentation. The way they serve and explain each dish is also highly elaborate.

Oscar Teuffer my waiter was an example of how a great restaurant should be staffed. He attended to my specific likes. Was patient with my questions and took his time to make sure I was choosing a course I would enjoy.

Incredible mix if colors and flavored with surprising blends of ingredients.
You almost feel like you are eating Art.

Kitchen was impeccable. Clean and with a very eager team.

I'd say its a must stop and enjoy choice when you are in Mexico City.

I will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    259
    135
    42
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Do yourself a favor and run don't walk to this gem of a restaurant. Book well in advance or you may be disappointed. The ten course tasting menu is inventive and well worth the price. This is not your grandparents' Mexican food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boyohboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“After three years, still exciting food, different menu selections.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We made a trip to Mexico City to eat at El Pujol again, the flagship restaurant of chef Enrique Olvera. We were very happy to have new menu choices, with the same level of exciting versions of traditional Mexican ingredients. The dining room is small and intimate, and the service was very good. The food was "intelligent" and very carefully prepared, without being overly fussy. The atmosphere was electric with a younger crowd really enjoying the eating and drinking experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We celebrated our 4th anniversary of marriage in Pujol, 28.02.2013. Extraordinary service and food; creative set-ups (like macadamia ice cream rolled in amaranth grains on the layer of salade doucette with green tomatoes...). Definitely this restaurant moved on the top of the list of all restaurants I have been eaten before. Booking before recommended, as it usually is full.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank small_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
639 reviews
587 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“Good experience, not spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The chef here definitely knows what he's doing, flavours are neat and clear and the dishes are a clever take on Mexican cuisine classics and flavours. But in the end, for a cuisine of such richness and intensity as the Mexican, several of the creations were a bit of a letdown: there was the class, what was missing was the punch.

The best dishes were a sharply presented coturniz, very rich and intense and marvellously cooked with contrasting acidity provided by the garnish; and what for us was a very original dessert of avocado cremoso (mousse), delightful. The only other memorable thing was the amuse bouche, a trio of wonderful baby corn, avocado slices with a spicy filling, and a drink based on blue corn. A main of pork was nicely cooked but the pork lacked depth of flavour (nice mole though). Some 'assemblage' starter dishes (beef tartare, jicama salad) were nice but a little flat and lacked power. One of them was almost poor: a 'barbecued' aubergine block which was watery and surprisingly bland except for an unpleasant bitterness (the accompanying sauce was good though). Another dessert featured excellent chocolate but lacked textural variety, and so did the mousse that was offered as a petit four.

Portions are small. Prices are resonable, at the high end of Mexico city but low compared to US and Europe, but wines are marked up a bit more than in other fine dining places (e.g. Paxia). Service is kind but not the best we've had in Mexico city, your server keeps changing and there may be lapses of attention. The room is fine but undistinguished.

All in all, it's certainly a place to try once, but while we went with the intention of booking immediately for a return visit, we decided to explore other venues instead.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank thoughtfuldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pujol also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pujol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing