We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge sushi”

Tori Tori Temistocles
Reserve with OpenTable
Tori Tori Temistocles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 4,523 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $200
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Campos Eliseos y Newton
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Huge sushi”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Kind of a pricy place with huge sushi pieces. Food wasn't that great. Place is nice though and good for chilling. Drinks are well, too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    110
    44
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Am I scary?”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Greetings food lovers.

Well so I was around the area and I had already seen this place. Small but eye catching in my opinion so after buying some books I decided to give it a try.

- The place

It is a small japanese restaurant with warm lights and a sushi bar displaying their different products. The place looks clean and there is a kind of charm I find about it that caught my attention the first time walking down that street.

I had to check the bathroom and it was also very clean so it made me feel relieved that if they had this level of committment towards the tidyness of the bathroom then the kitchen should be even better.

- Service

From the moment I entered I felt there was something missing, I don't know if the host was expecting only japanese people in this restaurant or if I freaked him out somehow so I said I would sit at the bar since he didn't offer me a table.

10 minutes after being at the bar waiting to be attended and the chef watching me nervous (or uncomfortable) I called the closest waiter; he asked me "did they offered you something to drink" so I answered him that he was the first person to talk to me.

5 minutes later I had to ask another waiter for the menu (I still didnt get my first drink). I asked for a moriwase salad and an eel chirashi. After 30 minutes I heard one of the waiters whispering about my order and the chef was upset that the chirashi was already finished and not the salad.

In order to amend the deal the chef offered me a little bowl of tuna as a snack while my order was about to get ready so extra points for that.

A while later a couple arrived and another guy too. They all sat at the bar, and even when when one of them ordered soup, they were getting attended quite fast so that made me feel I wasn't welcome in the restaurant.

- Food

The taste on both dishes was supreme. The moriwase had REAL crab and not surimi like most restaurants. The shrimps on the salad were fresh too.

The chirashi was very small to what I was used to in another restaurants but still the flavor was excellent. I tried their tamago nigiri too but I felt it had the taste of scrambled eggs and not usual sweetness.

- Conclusion

As I said before I didnt feel welcome there. I felt the services was biased for japanese people and friends or peopleo known by Tori Tori's staff. Maybe if they had a disclaimer or a printed policy at the door saying "don't expect to have a good service if you are not japanese or known here" then I wouldn't complain, but since there wasn't anything like it then I left the place hungry and upset, this was the first time I left only 5% of tip on a restaurant and I only did it because the chef noticed I wasn't enjoying this experience.

I would return here only if I get first hand news about the change of the service since I really enjoyed the food but paying 710 pesos (around 54 dollars) and still being hungry then I consider this place as very expensive just because of the lack of good service.

Thanks for reading... enjoy your meals.

Helpful?
3 Thank ZANARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fancy, modern sushi”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Excellent sushi, good service, elegant surroundings, in Polanco. Choice of indoors/outdoors. Favorite place for young people (appropriate music). You won't see it unless you know the address!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Explorer074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good sushi, nice ambiance in the garden”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Sushi was good but not cheap, it was a bit difficult to order at there were no english menus. I sat outside in the "Garden" and loved the outside heaters, but hated the smoking around me... probably should have gone inside but it was so nice eating outside. Also, loved the 80ies music they were playing.

I might go back next time I am in Mexico City

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good sushi”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very good sushi, good location and good service. Was a little expensive considering and the waiters tend to be overly anxious to turno over the table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe_McQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tori Tori Temistocles also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tori Tori Temistocles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing