We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best sushi options”

Tori Tori Temistocles
Reserve with OpenTable
Tori Tori Temistocles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #166 of 4,236 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $200
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Campos Eliseos y Newton
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the best sushi options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great quality of ingredients, you might want to make a reservation as it is a recognized and popular place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    108
    40
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The best sushi place in Mexico. The freshness of the food is the true secret of this place. You can't get tired of this place. Very expensive, but worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Exclusivity ambience, good food, overpriced bill.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

It is definitely an interesting experience. The building is an authentic architectural treat, and I particularly recommend the "Salón de Thè", which is more intimate and has the best indoor atmosphere of the place, with a garden-wall and a roof-window to see the sky.
The service is everything you would expect. The food was very good, yet not extraordinary, and I did notice this is the first Japanese restaurant I go in which they serve a single piece of nigiri in every order (even if the price would let you assume they would serve the usual two bites per order I have always seen)... I guess its a statement of exclusivity they could save the customer: it would still be as nice with reasonably larger portions.
The bill was excessive for sure, but our experience was an overall positive and we were pretty happy with it as a whole.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arvizudop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, overpriced food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The architecture of the place is awsome! the ambiance is very good. You should go there only on special occasions, to celebrate, to have a good time, But that's it, don't go there to eat. The food is regular, and totally overpriced.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gigilalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good sushi, but quality is going down...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I visit Tori Tori a lot, despite the fact that it is pricey. This is a review of the original place in Polanco. I don't like the Condesa branch. Fish is fresh, portions a bit smaller than they should be, but almost always people walk away satisfied. Apart from the prices, my only complaint is that they don't have good ventilation and the smells of the kitchen stay with you long after you've left. I recommend the Tazón de salmón or atún marinado. Tasty!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VZebadua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tori Tori Temistocles also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tori Tori Temistocles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing