We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect place for a traditional Mexican breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cardenal

El Cardenal
Ranked #6 of 3,538 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a traditional Mexican breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

El Cardenal is one of the most traditional restaurants in México, great quality and flavor in their menu. Very nice familiar place in the weekends (but try to arrive before 9am or you'll have to wait 20-30 min to get a table.
My favorites for breakfast are tortilla de escamoles (escamoles frittata), hot chocolate and huevos Veracruz (egg tacos with a beans sauce and chorizo). They make their own bread so is delicious, also the fresh made fruit juices.
In summary, one of my favorites places to have a nice family breakfast on weekends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bvilleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    291
    52
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you re an American and think that Mexican food consists of tacos, nachos, and refried beans boy are you in for a surprise. I was in Mexico about 25 years ago and loved the food. Came back home and was disappointed at the Mexican food in the U.S. On my return to Mexico I was so glad to find this restaurant to reaffirm my love for Mexican food. So good. I was in Mexico for a week and went there twice. It is so good that I would consider making a trip to Mexico City just to eat there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodlechecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Love this place. A must go when in Mexico City. Don't miss it. Try the so famous conchas with nata for breakfast... You won't regret it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CEstefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
282 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Whether it is with visiting friends or just for the fun of it, this traditional white tablecloth restaurant is a great choice for Mexican Cuisine.
Their breakfasts and lunches are delicious; unfortunately, they are not open for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little of classic Mexican society and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food was very good, but I did have to send my fish dinner back because the taste was off. However, they replaced it with a delicious Salmon dinner with no problem. My husbands dinner was very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OpenTicket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cardenal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing