We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding service. Perfect midnight dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Pied de Cochon

Au Pied de Cochon
Reserve with OpenTable
Au Pied de Cochon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 3,826 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
MEXICO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding service. Perfect midnight dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Au Pied de Cochon for many years has gain great prestige in Mexico City, for many locals it is perfect spot for an after concert dinner (The Auditorio Nacional forum is just across the street) said that, we had just had best service experience.

OUR VIP EXPERIENCE: After a concert, the restaurant was full, and only one table was available, since walk-ins are accepted they let us know that our table was to be ready in a couple of minutes, at that moment some guy walks in asking for a table, when they let him know that it was fully booked he went inside talked to everyone that he could in order to get one table, an then his party arrived: a couple of well known singers. At that moment our table (the last table) was assigned to us, we had a wonderful dinner.

In Au Pied de Cochon we have always received great service, but this experience was unique, even if this situation was a matter of delivering good service, not many restaurants have the confidence to reject a VIP in order to respect another costumer. Congratulations Au Pied de Cochon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    204
    62
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eating French while in M.C.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Beautiful dinner with excellent seafood, fish or meat. The soufflé desert is a must!
The restaurant is located inside the premises of Intercontinental hotel in Polanco, Mexico City.
The service is accurate and the place had a nice warm ambiance. I had fish for main while my colleges had meat. We were all satisfied and content. The soufflé was the nicest surprise, fluffy and silky just like in a good place in France. We started with one, ended ordering another 2!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yoav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our second time to Au Pied de Cochon and we really enjoyed it. Escargot delish, good wine, tasty entres! Great place to see some famous faces as well! (I wont say who!) Will definetly be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasPalacegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced ordinary food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Nothing french about this restaurant except for its prices on the menu! Avoid. Food wasn't great. Service is good though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meli_hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
204 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

There were a lot of things wrong with this restaurant although the food was fairly good, yet over priced.
First, the service is overbearing. Jus too much of it, yet it is still very slow. You get a lot of attention, but nobody is empowered to solve your problem. Don't ask for another glass of wine from the waiter, he's not allowed to bring it. Only the wine steward because only he has the key to the wine cellar. And I was drinking the cheapest local wine, mind you. So anticipate your needs.
Secondly the lighting. Way to bright. Lights literally glaring and reflecting off your table, off the menu, off the walls.
Add to this the euro jazzy music played way too loud.
Not a good atmosphere at all.
My salmon was ok but you really can screw up salmon. But my friends highly touted French fries were cold. Everything is served with such reverence that you think it was the last supper. I wasn't buying the drama.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jackietrehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pied de Cochon also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Au Pied de Cochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing