We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overpriced ordinary food!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Pied de Cochon

Au Pied de Cochon
Reserve with OpenTable
Au Pied de Cochon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 3,826 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced ordinary food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Nothing french about this restaurant except for its prices on the menu! Avoid. Food wasn't great. Service is good though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meli_hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    204
    62
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
204 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

There were a lot of things wrong with this restaurant although the food was fairly good, yet over priced.
First, the service is overbearing. Jus too much of it, yet it is still very slow. You get a lot of attention, but nobody is empowered to solve your problem. Don't ask for another glass of wine from the waiter, he's not allowed to bring it. Only the wine steward because only he has the key to the wine cellar. And I was drinking the cheapest local wine, mind you. So anticipate your needs.
Secondly the lighting. Way to bright. Lights literally glaring and reflecting off your table, off the menu, off the walls.
Add to this the euro jazzy music played way too loud.
Not a good atmosphere at all.
My salmon was ok but you really can screw up salmon. But my friends highly touted French fries were cold. Everything is served with such reverence that you think it was the last supper. I wasn't buying the drama.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jackietrehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“As in Paris ... almost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good effort to look like a Paris bistrot, but obviously not like the real 'Pied de Cochon'.
I gave the ;Pied' a try and it was delicious. You better know what you started. It comes as a complete pig's foot and has a lot of fat around it, but strip all the fat and the meat left is dry, succulent and delicious.
Service was a bit slow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BKrul2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“French Cuisine in Mexico City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband loves this restaurant located in the Polanco district of Mexico City. I have eaten there 5 times and I always feel as if I am in Paris. Fresh oysters!!!!! Excellent service. A few months ago, I took a friend who was visiting from Canada. We were the first arrivals but by the time we finished (we took our time enjoying the meal) Au Pied was full!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Photogirl406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good file mignon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Tasty...good meat. Favorite restaurant of a friend of us...

Nothing to complain about...( I did not get the bill..I bet it was not inexpensive).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pied de Cochon also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Au Pied de Cochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing