We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur
Ranked #77 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loud but clean”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My mom, husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in November for a wedding. The check-in process was longer than expected but the girl was in training. unfortunately no one thought to help her when she was having trouble. Later we noticed that they charged us way more for the room than originally planned so we had to work that out and in the end got charged double exchange fees for the mishap of the hotel. Reading the reviews, we asked for a room facing the courtyard. I think because of that our room was always very dark. We asked for a courtyard facing room to avoid noise but we could hear everyone in the rooms next to ours (and the elevator). The walls are paper thin and rooms were small. Breakfast was horrible coffee, some bread, some cold cuts and cheese. On the positive, staff were nice greeting us, location is ideal (if you are familiar with Mexico City), beds were comfortable, very clean rooms and hotel in general.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMNDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the valuable feedback that you have sent us, talking about the inconveniences with the room and coffee is very important that you let us know this and any situation immediately through our front desk area in charge to help you,

We are working in these areas of opportunity waiting to having you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    224
    177
    76
    33
See reviews for
124
74
35
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's a pretty bland hotel. I'm pretty sure that you can find something with more character and amenities at about the same price. I stayed here because it was close to where my friend lives, but now that I know the city a little bit better I would feel comfortable staying elsewhere.

Desk help was friendly and helpful, but the breakfasts were minimal. The rooms were clean but lacked little things that can make a difference. Like enough drinking glasses, washcloths etc.

There is a VIPS restaurant attached to the hotel and the ambiance and food matched the mediocrity of the hotel.

Room Tip: I had an inside room far from the elevator which had a view of a courtyard that was covered by some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest
We just want to send a short note to say that we are aware of the drawback of our hotel. We commit ourselves to continue to improve our services to meet 100% with your needs.
Thank you very much and hope to see you there at other times
We remain at your entire disposal, we parted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Well I went there to make a reservation and pay for the days my family would stay there, the day they came in my family called me saying that the lady didn't recognize not even the payment but the reservation either. Later when I went there to visit them I found a lot of thrash and old mattresses on the hallways (just uploaded a picture). Still they told me they had a good time there. I'm not so sure I would go there as my first choice to host my family again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hlzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I want to offer you an apology for any inconvenience during your stay in reference with the incident with the service as this helps us to identify our areas of opportunity and work on them to improve the quality of our services; we reported that we have implemented corrective action in relation to your comment.
Waiting us the chance to have your preference and serve you as you deserve.
We are at your service.
GREETINGS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is in the south so very convenient for places such as Coyoacan, UNAM, San Angel, etc., but not so close to the city centre, Condesa, Polanco, etc. If your trip is focused in the south of the city, this is a good place to stay: very comfortable rooms, excellent service, good value. The breakfast is very simple and not great, but overall it was a great stay (stayed 4 nights in August 2013).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauricio200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Good afternoon Mauricio,

Thanks for contacting us, it is a pleasure to know that your stay in our hotel City Express Insurgentes, meet your expectations and know that our standards of service and quality, made ​​to feel very comfortable during their stay.

We said goodbye to you, but first thank you for your preference.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the location, and it worked well for us. The hotel is pretty new, and is very clean and modern and safe. The staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. There are two restaurants with entrances on the lower floor of the hotel- we enjoyed the Argentine restaurant (El Diego) but did not try the other (VIPS- a chain restaurant like Denny's). The rooms are not large, but the floor-to-ceiling window made them bright. There was ample space to lay our suitcases. (Pictures that are posted by the hotel are accurate.) There was a hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. The beds are really firm with fluffy comforters. The bathrooms have big showers but no tubs. The air conditioner made a funny sound, kind of like an aquarium, but it worked well. There are staff on the property 24 hours a day, so getting a taxi before 5:00 a.m. was not a problem. There is a business center with free internet access, and the rooms have free wi-fi. Breakfast is included.

The downsides: There is a TV the size of a computer monitor which was hard to see from the beds. There is no clock in the room, so we relied on our cell phones when we needed an alarm, although wake-up calls are offered.

We would stay there again, for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front can get street noise, so ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeside31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know that our hotel City Express Insurgentes exceeded their expectations and have made ​​me feel very comfortable. We appreciate the confidence he had in sharing their experience
Thank you very much and hope to keep their presence on other occasions
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel that is more to South, ie closer to San Angel, Coyoacan, or the business cluster around Plaza Inn, or the Torre Insurgentes, this hotel is definitely a budget option. Not as fancy as nearby Fiesta Inn, but also better priced. The hotel is clean, beds good, free WiFi works, and the breakfast buffet is not necessarily sumptuous or top notch quality but good enough.
What I missed: an iron or a water heater (for tea or coffee) in the room. Otherwise: the location is good. The "metrobus" stops in front of the hotel and the "Barranca de Muerto" subway station is not too far a walk away (but not right next door either).

Room Tip: Should you book online, be sure to get a confirmation, though. I did not check that and when I arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is our pleasure to host you at City Express Insurgentes. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are happy to know that the quality of the service met your expectations, that you had a comfortable stay and that the hotel´s location worked great for both your transportation and entertainment needs. We hope to host you again soon either in Mexico City or in any other hotel of the City Express chain around Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I really enjoyed the staying (it's not an incredible hotel but I have no complaints). The workers were very polite and efficient. The have buffet breakfast included. The rooms are comfortable, with double beds. They have a Vips down the stairs, that may be helpful. And the MetroBus is very accessible (that way you can travel easier around the city). And there's a theater next to the hotel (we went to a play with Demián Bichir, Alfonso Herrera and Ana de la Reguera). Great soundproof. I do recomend you to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalidadyServicio, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is our pleasure to host you at City Express Insurgentes. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are happy to know that the quality of the service met your expectations, that you had a comfortable stay and that the hotel´s location worked great for both your transportation and entertainment needs. We hope to host you again soon either in Mexico City or in any other hotel of the City Express chain around Mexico.
Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Inn Insurgentes Sur
Fiesta Inn Insurgentes Sur
#42 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.0 mi away
City Express Patio Universidad
City Express Patio Universidad
#61 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Diplomatico
Hotel El Diplomatico
#180 of 307 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Mexico City - Plaza Universidad
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ciudad de Mexico Trade Center
2.6 mi away
Fiesta Inn Insurgentes Viaduct
Fiesta Inn Insurgentes Viaduct
#36 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur

Property: City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur
Address: Avenida Insurgentes sur 1581 | Col. San Jose Insurgentes, Mexico City 03900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Juárez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur 2*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityexpress Insurgentes Sur Hotel Mexico City
City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing