We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Mexico City
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Stylewalk MX
from $392.70
More Info
from $36.30
More Info
from $488.40
More Info
from $388.30
More Info
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
255
12
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
255
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street art tour walking tour spray paint art scene bar tour hr tour local street extremely knowledgeable about the history great background unique perspective contemporary architecture behind the scenes mezcal tasting great tour morning tour pyramids tour historical information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 269 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2019

Going behind the curtain and seeing things through an architect's eyes gave us an appreciation and perspective we would otherwise could not have accessed. We had a wonderful time with Ramon and have already recommended the experience to a number of other folks. Definitely a special day!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Jo-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylewalk-MX, Owner at Stylewalk MX, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Ramon and I are enchanted you enjoyed your architecture tour so much!
It's definitely a different experience doing this with an architect and delving into buildings that are not usually open to the public. It always makes us happy to hear that these unique factors are appreciated by our guests and recommended. Thank you so much!
Best,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful tour with Cesar Tapia. He was very professional and extremely knowledgeable about the history of Mexico City. He was friendly, easy to talk to, and tailor made the trip to our needs. I also greatly appreciated that Victor emailed me several times confirming our trip and giving me some advance information about our guide.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Gayle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylewalk-MX, Owner at Stylewalk MX, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

It's our pleasure to be of service! Thank you so much for your lovely feedback for both Victor and Cesar.

We work with only a handful of guides because we have very high expectations of them and frankly there's only a few, according to our standards, that make the grade. The ones we have we would trust with our grandmothers!

We understand there can be a lot going on during a holiday, or business visit, so we try our best to keep you updated and teed-up every step of the way. Victor will be delighted to know you noticed and appreciated his communications i this too!

We hope to see you back in Mexico City soon. Meantime safe travels!

Best
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

We travelled to Mexico City with our children ages 11 and 14 and chose Stylewalk Mexico for three excursions and airport transfer services. Prior to each tour we received a reminder of the time of departure, a map of our meeting place if it was different from our hotel, restaraunt reservations made for our connecting tours and a photo of our guide along with safety information. We found the city and tours to be safe and exceptionally well run from our booking experience with Victor to the individual guides making our holiday a wonderful experience.

Our first tour guide Javier was exceptionally professional, prompt, and courteous and spoke fluent English. He took us on our first excursion to Teotihuacan which was a full day. On the route to the ruins he stopped at the Basilica of our Lady Guadalupe and told us of the historical significance of the site. It was fantastic seeing the very old Cathedral next to the modern Cathedral. As we drove from the downtown area he pointed out the beautiful Jacaranda trees in full bloom of purple as well as significant buildings and murals. Javier gave us a wonderful lesson in geography and history along the way from the Teotihucan civilization to ancient Maya, Aztecs, Toltec, the Spanish and Mexico’s independence. At Teotihuacán he accompanied us the whole way pointing out the significance of each building, trade, daily living, astronomy, indigenous food and culture, etc. We loved the detail in the reliefs and pyramids and details at the temple of Quetzalcoatl. We had an opportunity to climb the Sun and Moon Pyramid. The tour was exceptional. Afterwards we had an opportunity to visit obsidian carvers and learn about all the uses of the agave plant including sampling of tequila, mezcal, aguamiel, sikua. We had an opportunity for lunch before our trip back to the hotel. This tour was fantastic! Decent walking shoes, sunscreen, water and a light sweater for colder early mornings is advisable. Steps of pyramids are steep ascending is easiest as the steps are narrow and the climb down is tricky but there is a safety rope to hang on to. If travelling with young children the top of the pyramids is very high and dangerous and children should be watched carefully.

Our second trip was a morning tour of street art graffiti with Jocan. Our meeting location was in a park near the graffiti that Jocan was showing us which included political aspects of graffiti, the style of the artists, and the history of graffiti. Jocan was extremely knowledgeable about the history behind the pieces he was showing us. Towards the end of the tour he took us to walls where he taught us can control and allowed us to make our own graffiti art. Afterwards he walked us to the downtown historical district where the company had made reservations for us for lunch in between our tours. This was a real highlight of our trip and our boys loved the experience.

After our street art graffiti tour Santiago met us at the restaraunt and took us on a walking tour showing us significant architectural buildings on our way to the Palacio de Bellas Artes where he showed us the incredible murals and discussed them with us. He then took us to the Museum of Anthropology where his knowledge of the history of Mexico’s indigenous people made the museum come to life. The depth of his knowledge was so incredible and each artifact he showed us had a very interesting story. Our 11 year old loved walking and talking with Santiago and he learned so much!! He said it was better than sitting in a classroom. Afterwards Santiago and a driver returned us to our hotel.

Our third tour was again with Javier to the Monarch Sanctuary which was the most incredible experience! The trip to the sanctuary was 2.5 hours but a beautiful, scenic drive. At the sanctuary Javier helped us arrange horses to ride up the mountain and take us back down. At the top of the mountain we saw thousands of butterflies clustered on branches take flight as the air warmed. Butterflies landed and circled so close you could see the detail in their wings and bodies. This year the migration was strong and their numbers plentiful which made the experience amazing. Javier even pointed out the difference between a male and a female monarch. After the sanctuary Javier took us to Valle de Bravo for a lovely lunch by the beautiful lake before returning us back to our hotel by dinner time. It was a perfect day. I would advise people to bring a scarf or mask as the trail is dusty with the horses and drinking water. Restrooms on site charge you to use them so coins are nescessary. Horse rental was additional to the cost of the tour but well worth it since the altitude can make you feel short of breath and tired. We felt that the horses added to the experience and our boys loved riding. The horses were very mild tempered and easy for children to ride as each horse had a guide with it.

Finally the airport transportation was exceptional with our guide telling us places to eat and places to see. Our plane was an hour late on arrival and the airline lost our bag further delaying our arrival but our driver was waiting with a sign with our name and helped us with all our luggage. On our departure he helped us find an airport assistant to help us smoothly check in our luggage.

This company is exceptional and I would highly recommend them to make your vacation to Mexico City a wonderful experience. Thank you Stylewalk Mexico for a fantastic experience, you are the best!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 4oceanlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylewalk-MX, Owner at Stylewalk MX, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2019

It was an absolute pleasure to host you! Thank you for such detailed feedback AND for taking note of all the extra things we love to get right!

Being responsible for a family's holiday on the other side of the world is something we take very seriously. Time is precious and most people only get one big vacation a year, so we like to make sure it's a winner in terms of logistics, vibe, and experience.
And yes we like to make sure we don't overwhelm our guests with too much info all at once!

Many thanks for your trust in us, and the wonderful comms you gave us which helped us create a fun itinerary for your family, so you could experience Mexico City the way that you wanted to.

Safe travels, and we hope to see you again one day soon!
Best
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

Santiago was a terrific guide, mixing history, current events and political discussion (which we welcomed) very nicely.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank GlobeTrotting236807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylewalk-MX, Owner at Stylewalk MX, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We believe that a good tour is not all facts. It's also about enjoying your time with your guide, and soaking up modern Mexico City too.
Santiago will be really pleased to hear he ticked all the boxes, so many thanks for sharing that with us!

Safe travels
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

Being and architect, to be able to tour the city with a practicing coleague, was an absolute best.

Juan Ramón, was not only super hospitable and friendly, but really took all my interests into account, and tailored an amazing experience throughout the city. Added to this, being an active professional himself, he knew all this inside information and fun facts about the architects that designed the buildings we visited! We even got to see one of the projects that he personally worked on (Habita Hotel) and had time to stop for coffee, which he kindly payed for.

If you're really passionate about architecture, this is definitely the tour to take. No questions!!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Toski C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylewalk-MX, Owner at Stylewalk MX, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2019

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback! There is such a plethora of great architecture in the city, but paradoxically there are NOT many architecture tours in Mexico City, and next to none that offer a PROFESSIONAL tour with a working architect.
As a huge architecture fan myself, I searched long and hard to find the right person for this architecture tour!

As an Architecture Professor and an active working architect, Ramon knows SO MUCH about this city and its buildings, but he also knows how to balance the day. He is fun loving, and approachable. He also understands that some guests are very particular about engineering, others about design, process or urban conditions, and others just love to feel inspired and take photos!

I am so glad you enjoyed the itinerary he tailored for you and you felt appropriately spoilt across all senses.

We look forward to taking you out again the next time you are in Mexico City!
Best
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews