We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful Tour without the Obligatory Shopping Stops

We absolute loved our tour with our driver and guide, Javier who was so very knowledgeable and... read more

Reviewed April 17, 2020
SoulAventurera
,
Chicago, Illinois
A must if you live art and history

We had Jocan to take us on this tour and Sebastian who came along also. We couldn't have been more... read more

Reviewed March 11, 2020
TJM682
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 286 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mexico City
from $42.00
More Info
from $15.00
More Info
from $21.99
More Info
from $97.99
More Info
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
271
12
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
271
12
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mezcal tasting great guide we spent hours small group cesar paco pyramids guadalupe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 286 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2018

We had the pleasure of walking the streets of CDMX with Emlo. We definitely saw a ton of amazing art. But Emlo made it special by sharing so much history with us. We walked on streets, we would not have walked on otherwise. On one of those streets my siste managed to score, free, freshly rolled tortillas, that were better than the ones we had at Pujol, that we ate and shared with someone down on their luck. We were also asked to join a group that was knitting stuffed toys to welcome the children in the caravan of Central Americans that would arrive soon. We visited the market were we saw a bluefin tuna...yeah...it’s endangered...but the last time we saw one was in Paris, more tha 20 years ago...and even then it was always so beautiful. CDMX is a special city and spending time in it, with Emlo was wonderful. He is just so nice and so full of stories. Would walk with him again in a heartbeat! As we saw, fresh art is being created every day and there are always fresh experiences to be had on those streets. The toys that where being knitted by grandmas and neighbors were beyond beautiful. Someone had knitted a one of a kind lucha libre action hero. The walk guaranteed art, we were not expecting the added bonus of jus life! Loved! thanks so much Emlo!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank ola p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

I was a little apprehensive when booking the tour because there was no set itinerary. However right after booking I received a questionnaire asking about my interests. When we met our guide, Ramon, he quickly put my my concerns to rest. He is an architect and lecturer with broad knowledge of the architecture of Mexico City. I am also an architect, so I had a pretty high bar on what I was hoping to see and learn. My hopes were exceeded in every way. It was a delightful day spent seeing a number of buildings including one that Ramon had worked on the design. I would highly recommended it.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank tlenchek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

We were disappointed with the tour and the guide. First two places were fine and the food was very nice at the second. The last two bars were far too crowded and there was real difficulty in getting a seat. The music was not to the taste of one of us in the third place. We were not consulted as to the type of music we liked.

Did not feel guide gave us much information about the music, the bars, Mexico City or the drinks. Anyway in last two places, because of the noise and the seating arrangements when we finally did get a seat, it would not have been worth giving a commentary. For much of the time guide was elsewhere anyway.

We also did not think the tour was good value for money. It includes no drinks or transport and you pay for the guide’s food and drink too!!!!! We did a food tour for much the same price with food included for example. Further in these days of the internet people can find bars themselves and so we were expecting quite out of the way and different places, which did not seem to be the case.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank K7790VHgregk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylewalk-MX, Owner at Stylewalk MX, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

We are really grateful for your feedback, and appreciate the time and effort your group has put into this.

We agree that tailoring our tours to our clients is essential to getting it right on the night. The cost of the tour reflects that it is a private tour, where the guide is there to take care of you, and only you. Be it: your security, organising transport, making advance reservations, or knowing how to access lesser-known venues.

You mention that you were not consulted about your tastes, however prior to the tour you received a questionnaire asking you about your "interests/ preferences/pet hates & hopes". Your answer to this question was: " in your hands". In this way your guide, Jocan, believed you were open to his expertise and curation.

When a client specifies something like dive-bars only, well-heeled speakeasies, must have a smoking area, or glitzy disco etc, then we create a program for them based on their feedback. In your case, Jocan chose a mixture of eclectic hipster bars located in La Condesa and La Roma. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy the first two of these that you went to.

Obviously nothing is set in stone, so when you indicated that you did not like the electronic music of the third bar, Jocan adapted his plans so that you could experience an unnamed live-jazz venue instead. To have a table reserved for you with no noise would have required advance notice and investigation, so yes he did have to run around a bit to make sure you would be comfortable there. We are sorry if this experience didn't live up to your expectations, however. We are very aware that our guests’ time in foreign countries is precious and every moment counts, so we apologize if you feel the end of the night was not worth it.

We are glad you got to safely experience Mexico City's upbeat nightlife, however, and sincerely hope the rest of your stay was a pleasant one.

Kind regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

We enjoyed our street art tour with Emlo today, and really enjoyed the variety of pieces; small "unders" and pasted posters as well as the larger sides of buildings that are commissioned.

The timing felt a bit off today, from starting about 10 minutes late and the pacing felt a bit slow and then we seemed to have gone longer than 2.5 hours.

Yet, we packed so much in. We really valued being able to see some really new works of art, some hidden gems, see some shops, and learn more about how girls are making their way in the street art world. With Meeting of the Styles coming to CDMX so soon, it'd be so neat to do this tour again in just a few weeks and see what's different.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank roach808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylewalk-MX, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Stylewalk MX, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Hello!

We are very glad to know even though your tour wasn't perfect you got to enjoy it very much, our sincere apologies for the delay at the beginning and for the tour over time, there are so many new murals being painted all the time and each one as its cultural/political importance, reason why we wouldn't like to leave them out, besides Emlo is very passionate when it comes to explaining their backgrounds and its easy for him to get drag into.

As you mention, girls are getting a big role in the scene, many murals are being repainted and more buildings are allowing artists to express! Something we just love to see and show you!

We´ll be glad to take you on a second tour and show you the changes!


Thanks for your comment! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Our tour was conducted by Javier. He is a wealth of knowledge about Mexico history. We weren't originally planning to go to the Basilica of Our Lady of Guadalupe but he convinced us based on the importance of the history and site to Mexican culture. We enjoyed the tour very much and highly recommend it.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank JMO0568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylewalk-MX, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Stylewalk MX, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Hey! glad to know you enjoyed your tour, Javier is really knowledgeable when it comes to Mexico City and always pointing out interesting quotes in the tour locations and on the way there. The Basilica is an optional stop in the pyramids tour but is defenetly a big referral for Mexicos history and culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews