We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful Tour without the Obligatory Shopping Stops

We absolute loved our tour with our driver and guide, Javier who was so very knowledgeable and... read more

Reviewed April 17, 2020
SoulAventurera
,
Chicago, Illinois
A must if you live art and history

We had Jocan to take us on this tour and Sebastian who came along also. We couldn't have been more... read more

Reviewed March 11, 2020
TJM682
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 286 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mexico City
from $42.00
More Info
from $13.00
More Info
from $34.90
More Info
from $125.99
More Info
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
271
12
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
271
12
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street art tour walking tour art scene bar tour extremely knowledgeable about the history great background unique perspective hour tour behind the scenes contemporary architecture mezcal tasting our tour guide great guide historical information his knowledge super fun excellent tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 286 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2018

Monica, our tour guide, led us through the San Juan Market in a way we could never have done alone. Sure, we looked up the place on the map and read about it in the guide books, but without her, we would have been lost and never have experienced a tenth of what there is to see, taste, smell, learn, or talk about.

We aren't normally guided tour people, but with only a few days in the city, we decided to go ahead and book the tour. Monica's knowledge of the stalls, her relationship with the vendors, and most importantly, her enthusiasm and pride in showing off her home's culture and traditions made this tour a highlight of our trip.

She made the market accessible. We got to chat and ask questions of the vendors, taste fruits, vegetables, samples of almost everything on offer, and explore things we wouldn't have even known to look for. The ceviche was a great example - sure we've had it in restaurants and parties, but we wouldn't have thought to order some in the market! Let alone known to rely on the vendor's recommendations for what was freshest and best without Monica's knowledge and relationship with the stall owner. And who knew you could have spicy grasshoppers, garlic grasshoppers or just "plain" grasshoppers. Aren't all grasshoppers equal? Evidently not. (The mescal helped).

Bottom line. Take the tour, enjoy the experience, make a new friend. It's time well spent.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018

We had a great experience with Laura on our stopover. She tailored a 3 hour tour to suit our interest, and provided us with a taste of the culture we would never have found on our own. We highly recommend touring with stylewalk mx, and we cannot wait to come back and tour with her again. Mr & Mrs T.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank albertamachinist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2018

Laura was very responsive during the entire planning process. She hired Ana rchitect and driver to lead us on a six hour tour of the contemporary architecture in Mexico City. She inquired about our desires of what to see.
Even when the original,architect had to bow out with a death in the family, she contacted us the night before with information on our new guide, his photo and his schooling and current work experience. I think the tour can be down without the private driver, but we were able to see more and enjoy more.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank zinfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura-StylewalkMX, Owner at Stylewalk MX, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

We love architecture here at Stylewalk MX! Actually it's our dream come true when we have architecture fans ask us to build them a tour! We always have a professional architect guide this tour because, as you know, the political era, architect's style, and form/function/urban planning considerations, all strongly affect the end result. The stories behind the buildings really help us understand what we are looking at.
Mexico City has such a wonderful array of modern and postmodern buildings. I am so glad you enjoyed the selection you saw, and that you enjoyed being hosted by an articulate architecture expert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018

We loved this tour!

We don't normally go in for guided tours, but we had a limited time in Mexico City and wanted to get as much of a sense for the city and culture in that time as we could. Our guide, Jocan, lives and breathes the street scene and knew every nook and cranny and hidden spot where local and international artists have placed their work.

Jocan was more than just a guide to each mural or painting or poster - he knew the politics and history and context of the pieces, the names of the artist or collective or crew. He could decipher tags, point out techniques, and give you a sense of symbolism or message hidden in plain sight in many of the pieces.

Just as important, Jocan is a local. He made you feel like a friend he was showing around his neighborhood. His knowledge and professionalism, but more his enthusiasm and sincerity made the few hours we spent with him a highlight of our trip.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

This is a great company to work with. Laura was very communicative and helped us customize a tour to align with our interests. She always responded quickly to emails and made several helpful suggestions. Our guide, Santiago, speaks fluent English, and gave us a lot of good information along the way. We had a driver as well, Juan, so Santiago could concentrate on us instead of driving. Thank goodness for Juan, who negotiated the crazy city traffic for us. Overall, it was a very good experience, much better than we could have gotten on a group tour.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank TJG214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews