We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for solo travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Comtesse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Comtesse
Ranked #5 of 141 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal for solo travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

You won’t find better value, a nicer atmosphere or a better location. You are made to feel really at home. Angelique gives you a very warm welcome and is at hand to give information, maps, make phone calls, etc helping with anything you might need. Over the breakfast table everybody seems to exchange tips and experiences. You meet interesting people and might even share a taxi to the pyramids. The house is a listed building full of style and charm, decorated with modern works of art and Mexican objets d’art. It has a pleasant internal patio with tables and chairs and a sofa where you can read or relax with a drink. Breakfast is carefully prepared from a varied a la carte menu. Staying at Casa Comtesse is a such a wonderful experience that it has made my trip to Mexico unforgettable.

Room Tip: I chose a room with a large glass wall, above the patio, so it was quiet and I could see lots of gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacomtesse, Reception at Casa Comtesse, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hola Louise,

Thanks a lot for your kind words and comments about our B&B. We sincerely hope to welcome you soonly again. Best wishes for 2014 from all the Casa Comtesse team!!

Kind regards,

Casa Comtess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    71
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
177
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lille
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I ve been a casa comtesse customer for several years now and i am still amazed by how much the hotel brings me a unique experience. That pleasure begins with the hotel entrance that always have its main door opened, followed by the welcoming smile of the great staff. Since the Thomas Flechel's art gallery opened just beside the hotel, it s a pleasure of discovering different pieces of Mexican talented artists. From the moment I enter in the bedroom, i simply know that my travel can only happen well as you feel home, clean and quiet (room Oriente is my favourite), especially with the smell of the exquisite morning breakfast going throught the corridors.
Congratulation Casa Comtesse, I will certainly continue to come back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jacques P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacomtesse, Reception at Casa Comtesse, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi!

Thank you soo much for all the comments. As usual we hope to welcome you soonly again!

best wishes for 2014 from all the staff members!

Kind regards,

Casa Comtesse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, and Casa Comtesse was a perfect base for exploring Mexico City, with 2 subway lines nearby making it easy to get around. The living room was gorgeous and we ended up spending each night with a few beers and some snacks planning our next day instead of going out! The breakfast was delicious and hearty; a great start to the day. The building is beautiful as well, which helps. It's a lovely oasis in such a busy city.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Wonderful greeting from the tenants, a magic house in the Condesa district with lots of restaurants and bars to enjoy!
The breakfast is simply amazing and you can enjoy the House to connect with other travelers! Unique cosmopolitan environment (French and Mexican), great location in Mexico City, and the opportunity to enjoy living in a house with tremendous architectural style;-) Do not hesitate!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BENOIT_BATAILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Located on the southern edge of the Contesa neighborhood of Mexico City. Casa Comtesse shares space with a small art gallery, which had a show opening related to the Day of the Dead. The hotel itself is a great example of the architecture of the area--mid 30s, art-deco inspired with lots of light and tall ceilings. I can't imagine how the staff could have been more friendly or helpful. Everyone spoke English and didn't mind our trying out our primitive Spanish. Breakfasts were beautifully prepared and presented. Lots of advice about nearby restaurants. All in all a great hotel, and we look forward to returning when next in Mexico.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijougirl1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacomtesse, Reception at Casa Comtesse, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi,

Thanks a lot for your message! It´s great to hear that you passed a good time in our Hotel. Hope you got safely back to Guatemala. We sincerely hope to welcome you another time!

Casa Comtesse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Casa Comtesse is welcoming right from the moment you make contact with them. Very prompt to replies to emails and thorough directions in both English and Spanish provided to give to the taxi driver were just the beginning. Upon arrival at the delightful lodgings we were impressed by the helpfulness and friendliness by all the staff. They had answers for all our questions (even about hairdressers!) or took the time to find answers for us promptly. Great recommendations for eating (We went back to Origenes Organics 3 times and El Carifa tacos were truly the best!) as well as delicious breakfasts prepared by the chef at Casa Comtesse. The attention to detail was everywhere from the interior design to the chef remembering on the second morning (and accommodating, without being asked) dietary preferences mentioned the day before. These guys run a brilliant bed and breakfast! Gracias a todos!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FAChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacomtesse, Reception at Casa Comtesse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi,

How are you doing? We really appreciate your comment and are even happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Casa Comtesse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We really liked Casa Comtesse. The neighborhood is great--quiet but with lively restaurants and cafes. The transit system works very well. We had two different rooms, with a trip to the beach in between--El Jaguar and El Oriente. Both were on the back and very quiet. We preferred El Jaguar even though it is a bit smaller. We had a bit of a mosquito problem in El Jaguar because we did not want to close the window, but the mosquito plugs seemed to work. The staff is great--especially Marion, Angelique, Herman, the chef, and the night guys. They were very helpful, getting taxis, setting up a trip to Teotihuacan, storing excess luggage. The breakfasts were terrific, especially the omelettes. And good coffee too. And the wifi worked. Beds are a little soft, but this is a matter of personal preference.

And this is a place that seems to attract interesting guests. The communal breakfast table made for lively conversation.

My only quibble: I wish they had warned us in advance about the party that the guests with the Spanish flamenco band were planning in the hotel. But I just put in my earplugs and was ok.

Room Tip: We liked El Jaguar especially. I would think all the rooms on the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacomtesse, Propriétaire at Casa Comtesse, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We really apreciate your comment, it is very important for us that you had a wonderful stay ! An apology for the birthday party of the Flamenco Group till midnight, it was quite unexpected, and I guess we forgot to warn and invite you during the quick organization. We hope to receive you again during your next stay ! Saludos, Thomas F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#47 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#51 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Condesa
Condesa Haus
Condesa Haus
#7 of 141 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
#9 of 141 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Comtesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Comtesse

Property: Casa Comtesse
Address: Esq Con Ometusco Eje Vial Eje 4 sur (Avenida Benjamin Franklin) 197 | Colonia Hipodromo Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Comtesse, a great Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Condesa's trendy neighborhood, a perfect play to stay (parks, restaurants, bars, trees in the street...). Thomas will receive you, friendly, with his advice, tips, and great knowledge of the city speaking French, English and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Comtesse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Comtesse Hotel Mexico City
Casa Comtesse Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing