We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure in Mexico City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #105 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have stayed at several so called "best in class"hotels in Mexico ansd I can tell you that this hotel is the best buy of them all. The hotel is small and quaint. The restaurant and the room service is excellent. The rooms are amplíe and very nicely decorated. The service staff is very friendly and attentive. All of this for half the price of the so called "best in class". I was surprised to see that this hotel ranks so low on the trip advisor rankings!

A couple of negatives. Very isolated and hard to get to. Beds were a bit hard, unless you like that sort of thing.

Give this hotel a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poogenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro A, General Manager at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest (Poogenstein),

We have read your kind comments about The Green Park Hotel in Mexico City.
We´d like to tell you that your comfort is our main purpouse during you stay at this exclusive Suites Hotel and will continue with all efforts to do so.
In reference to the beds, these are orthopedic and brand new, but will consider your comment to check if yours had any inconvenience.
We are certain that, up to this moment the Hotel is recognized as one of the best in the city and now are applying much more actions to promote it, in order to let people know that we are here.
Thanks again for taking the time to informed us about your experience and we´ll be waiting for your soon return to The Green Park Hotel Mexico City.

Salvador Herrero / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
22
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

just Oustanding !!! Best Place ever!!!! Food: Marvelous !!! Have stayed at this hotel on several occasions now and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Rooms pleasant, staff very friendly and helpfull. Leisure/Spa facilities top class, can see why it won an award. Excellent breakfast served in the mornings, bistro open all day and a choice of restaurants in the evening. The only negative is the location as it sits high at the back of St Helier, however they do run a mini bus down to the town centre at regular intervals Monday-Friday. Car parking on site usually not a problem. Believe it's very popular with families end of July, into August and September with kids club/creche on offer plus a variety of entertainment for the adults. Great deals available off-peak.

Room Tip: Go there !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night in July 2012, as our preferred hotel was unavailable - and regretted even that. We arrived quite early, and the hotel was good enough to accommodate us, which we appreciated (and discovered later was likely due to the fact that the hotel was essentially empty - no surprise given our experience) - but the positive initial experience ended there.

We had paid extra for a room with the much-vaunted view of Chapultepec Park - but as some other reviewers have noted, there isn't one - just the trees across the busy (and ugly) Avenida de los Constituyentes. In addition, the traffic noise in our room was noticible and bothersome. The room did have some old world style charm, with the hardwood floors, etc., but this was offset by the sub-standard state of repair and cleanliness (the bathroom in particular), and the bizarre large window between the bathroom and the bedroom (off-putting for anyone who appreciates some privacy in the bathroom). The rooftop restaurant (which we were also looking forward to, hoping that at least it might have a view - it did not) was closed for renovations (which we gather from other comments here have been going on for some time, and based on inquiries with the staff, would for some time yet).

Worst of all was the service, particularly in the restaurant, and as other reviewers have noted, with taxi service (which as others have also noted, is essential given the poor location).

In the restaurant, the wait staff were gruff and unprofessional - I was told abruptly that we would have to pay our bill because 'we had no credit' (at the time I assumed that the front desk had pre-charged our room, and not left an open account - but checking later discovered this was not the case). When my travelling companion complained that the coffee was too weak, the Maitre D' apologized and suggested he would remedy it immmediately with fresh coffee - which was no better, and on presentation of the bill, we were charged for both, and had to request to have the first removed from the bill.

Worse still, my credit card was compromised with fraudulent charges appearing the day after only having used it at this hotel - I can't help but suspect the unpleasant wait staff who insisted we pay our bill on the spot.

We also encountered the same issue others have noted with taxi service - despite specifically requesting a radio taxi to avoid exhorbitant hotel taxi rates, the taxi that showed up from a nearby stand attempted to charge us rates that were at least triple the standard rates using a hotel rate chart instead of the taxi meter. The front desk staff blamed the taxi driver, but the taxi driver and the doorman confirmed that the hotel had an arrangement with that taxi stand to charge those rates.

All-in-all, this is the classic case of a hotel billing itself as five stars when in fact the service is anything but - in addition, it is old, tired, dark, in a poor state of repair, and poorly located. With many, far better options nearby on the Paseo de la Reforma - hotels that actually DO have city views, good, convenient locations, excellent service and even better rates - there is absolutely no good reason to stay here. We moved on to the Embassy Suites Reforma for the rest of our one-week stay, and were glad to do so - a far better choice.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must stay here (and we strongly suggest you seek better options on the nearby Pase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JotaTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro A, General Manager at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I hope you could accept my most sincere apologies for this inconvenient experience, as I truly understand your frustration and disappointment,so unnecesary and unexpected.
Should you decide to give us another opportunity and stay at the Green Park in the future, I have no doubts that our improvement will be noticeble and you will enjoy your stay with us just the way is it´s intended; filled with pleasant, relaxing moments, accompanied by flawless service.
Sincerely.
Alejandro Alonso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel for people who prefer a smaller, friendlier property. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for me throughout my five day stay - they booked a private architectural tour with a professor of architecture, arranged restaurant reservations and ensured that my favorite newspapers were available in the afternoon.

I was here mostly for vacation and could not have asked for a better overall experience. My one reservation is that the street out front is very busy, so you will hear noise and feel vibrations from the traffic. If you're sensitive to this, ask for one of the interior facing rooms. I very much enjoyed the view from my room, which had a small balcony.

I tried the restaurant for room service, and it was quite good. Breakfasts were a real treat.

With the one caveat about street noise, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Embarcadero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Green Park Hotel

My wife and I came to visit some friends in La Condesa area late September and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Our inside room (#1007) was spacious and very quiet. The facilities were much better than expected, bordering on luxurious. The wood flooring was a little squeaky and that was a little distracting but not a real issue. The free WiFi is very nice. We found the Kingsize bed on the hard side of what we're used to.

We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant and it was delicious every time. Service was great since we were usually the only ones in the dining room. The waffles appeared to be frozen and reheated in the toaster but tasty nonetheless. We didn’t have dinner there as we always dined with our friends elsewhere.

The hotel is close to many of the sights in Chapoltapec Park but you need a taxi to get to them. The bell staff are helpful but be sure you confirm your destination with the driver before you leave. We had a situation where our driver misunderstood our destination as explained by the bell staff. This was a language barrier on our part.

We used the Turibus for our sightseeing. You can get it at the Oratorio Nacional.

Next time I go to Mexico City, this is where I will come and stay!

Muchas Gracias Green Park Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smrtcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We were eager to try their highly advertised "high tea" service one rainy afternoon. The people at the front desk had no idea of what we were talking about, so we headed to their "the view" restaurant on the third floor, where we were greeted by a surprised and disdained waiter who also did not know what we were asking about (we are fluent in spanish).
Finally, came the maitre´d , who told us that we needed a 24 hour prior reservation for the high tea service. To which we replied that there is no mention of this requirement in their nicely done colorful flyer. We asked if we could still have tea and biscuits and they led us to our table. We were the only customers they had in their big dining room. By the way, the only "view" you get is of the gates of the beautiful chapultepec forest. We expected a great cup of tea for the price (about 10 usd each), it turned out the waiter who serves the tea has NO idea of the right temp. tea must be served, and we ended up with 2 tasteless cups of very expensive tea. The tarte tatin we tried was ok, not excellent, for the price of about 10 usd.
On the bright side, the hotel looks spotless and it is in a great quiet location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro A, Manager at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Sorry about the tea service.
I will personally invite you for tea next time you come back.
Remember to ask for Alejandro Alonso.
Best regards.
Alejandro Alonso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Pros: Is located in front of Chapultepec (the biggest park in Mexico City) so it has a great view, rooms have a very comfortable bed and luxurious bath, food is very good (specially breakfast), it has a nice terrace at the 6th floor.

Cons: Sorry...didn´t find any

Rates from 120-300 usd

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patristain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Park Villa
#160 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#60 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#121 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#47 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Avenida Constituyentes No 99 | Col San Miguel Chapultepec, Mexico City 11850, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#37 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#54 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Green Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing