We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid but nothing special”
Review of Mexico City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mexico City Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solid but nothing special”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It is right in the middle of historic center, so great location for sightseeing, although you will need to go elsewhere for proper nightlife. It indeed has two locations, across the street from each other and I was in newly renovated one. Booked a single room, was given room for 4 without windows. No big deal, I was just sleeping there. Clean but ascetic. Reception staff and people in common rooms all seemed quite reserved. Breakfast is raved about here but it is really not worth mentioning - you can eat much better on the street for very little money. For 500/night, I'd say it was not good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    167
    54
    19
    11
See reviews for
22
110
128
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hostel, one of the nicest I've stayed in, the building is more like a hotel (i stayed in the hostel suites).
Good location close to the metro.
Reception staff are friendly and helpful :)
Amazing breakfast with scrambled eggs, toast, cereal, fruit. Sooo good for a hostel.
Dorm room was pretty standard, big lockers provided. Also big fluffy towel provided on check in. Showers hot, toilets clean, best smelling hand wash in Central America ;).
Nice social area with pcs n big tv
Wifi good but not available in rooms :(
Would recommend

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the moment I stepped into the beautiful, open lobby, I was impressed with this place. I had been staying at Mundo Joven around the corner, and this place was just a world apart. Quiet, peaceful, elegant.
The first floor has a nice common room with several computers. There is also a kitchen with the only oven I've ever seen in a hostel. Every morning, breakfast includes scrambled eggs, which alone makes it worth the extra 10 or 20 pesos you pay per night to stay here.
The bathrooms are immaculate, and the shower water was hot with ample pressure. You are given plush towels that are far better than anything I bring with me.
The dorms were clean with crisp sheets and fluffy pillows.
This place definitely qualifies as a boutique hostel!

Room Tip: There are two buildings that make up this hostel. I recommend the building on the East side of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldIsAPlayground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a really solid hostel that is very professionally run. There are 2 buildings, across the street from each other, and I stayed in secondary building for 2 nights. The hostel is beautiful inside, and the place is kept really clean. But if you are visiting Mexico City I would strongly recommend that you NOT stay in Centro, or near the Zocalo. Stay in Condesa. Or one of the other cool neighborhoods. Seriously. But if you want to stay in Centro this is a great option.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RidinDirti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at this hostel back in 2010, and still remember it as one of the prettiest hostels I've ever stayed at. Pretty, colourful murals on the walls, lush plants inside, plenty clean though furnishings were older. This hostel had tons of character. The hostel was 2 blocks north of the Zocala, the center square of the city, with the cathedral, city hall, archaeological dig of an ancient Aztec temple, and subway station. The neighbourhood was kept safe all day by plentiful heavily-armed guards, which can be either very disturbing or very reassuring, depending on perspective.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Firstly understand there are two buildings on opposite side of the streets, one which has been recently renovated and as such feels much cleaner and has a much better lounge area.

I stayed in both the old and new building. I had a twin private room with shared bathroom in both.

Initially we were in the new building ( number 11) the room was clean and had generous lockers however was in the middle of the hall with one window (no blind) that looked into the passage way. The lights in the passage do not turn off at night so the room was never dark and hard to get to sleep. In addition the windows did not shut completely so in the early hours of the morning drunk guests could be heard banging around the building. After no sleep for two nights the staff were very accommodating and moved us into the old building into a street facing room, and at a reduced rate. The room was spacious with double beds and a little balcony from which you can see the zocalo. It was excellent. I really must also commend the staff on their hospitality which was also excellent.

The breakfast is included and was more than sufficient. There is always water and hot water available as well which is great.

Some of the rooms are pretty much boxes some with no windows, but given the price and hospitality you cannot complain! And it is an excellent location literally steps away from the zocalo/historical center.

If you can get a street facing room, the ones in the new building are fantastic for the price.

Good, basic and cheap accommodation in a great area! And accommodating staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kali100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed in the Mexico City Hostel Suites across from the original hostel in a double ensuite room. Room was spacious, simple and clean with 2 double beds and a large bathroom. Very clean and quiet atmosphere with lovely decorations. More like a hotel than a hostel. Too bad there was no electricity in our room when we stayed or any hot water, nor any laundry service. When they told us this when we checked in, I thought it would be fixed within a day, but they had no idea when. They told us we could take hot baths at the shared bathrooms across the street. Very basic breakfast with scrambled eggs, melon, bread, Tang and coffee. Not even a toaster. We left our 2nd morning to go to the Hostel Cathedral which isn't nearly as nice or spacious but is inly a 1 minute walk away. Wish we could've stayed but no electricity, wifi or hot water is unacceptable. The friendly guy at the front desk gave us 10% off for our troubles without us even asking though. If you stay here, call and make sure the electricity, wifi and hot water is available. It wasn't when we left on 1/6/13.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelegutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,373 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
747 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#3 of 219 in Mexico City
311 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#41 of 219 in Mexico City
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexico City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexico City Hostel

Property: Mexico City Hostel
Address: Republica de Brasil 8 y 11 | Colonia Centro Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mexico City Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexico City Hostel and its renovated brother Mexico City Hostel Suites consists of two beautiful colonial buildings -right across from each other- and are located just a few steps from Zocalo in Mexico City's Historic Center. This colonial places will make you feel like home involved in a Mexican atmosphere. We are very close to interest places for Mexican tourist as well as backpackers from all around the world, such as galleries, museums, shops, markets, bars or night clubs, artisans, historic buildings, monuments and squares. We provide 3 types of peaceful, comfortable and spacious accommodation: private rooms with bathroom, private rooms without bathroom and cozy dormitories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mexico City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing