We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was clean and adequate”
Review of Mexico City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mexico City Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
as yet unknown
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This place was clean and adequate”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed a few nights at this hostel. The location was good, but the room was completely dark during the day, with no windows facing outside. This hostel has rather cold lighting and isn't very comfortable. Perhaps nicer for a very young backpacker who just needs a clean, safe place to crash. Some of the other rooms looked nicer. The pillows were real pillows and the sheets were clean. Very echo-y and there was a TV outside our room that was on constantly. Shared bathrooms were not cleaned every day, at least the girls' one near me wasn't, as same mess in a stall was there for more than 24 hours. Staff was very nice and very helpful, and gave us two keys, which seems to be a surprisingly rare occurrence in Mexican and Central American hostels.Breakfast was fine if small.

Room Tip: We were two people traveling and were put in a dark room for 6. The smaller double rooms with window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unexpectedexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    164
    54
    19
    11
See reviews for
22
109
125
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed there in November during my short holiday to Mexico City, had single room, room was nice, however walls quite thin so I had some difficulty with sleep. The staff was extremly friendly while I had some difficulties with my trips. Hostel is centraly located near Zoccalo place. Didn't feel unsafe there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alxandra_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed there for a week and I found it great. Just one and a half block from el Zocalo and a subway station. It was easy to go to almost any other part of the city from there.
The layout of the building in multiples levels with no common area (other than the lobby or the kitchen and dinning room), I could have felt limited in areas to interact with other people. Nevertheless, I am the kind of people who leaves after having breakfast and come back before going out for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

After 6 weeks of travelling round Mexico staying in hostels this was a nice place to find. The room was comfortable and nice and cool at night. The showers had amazing hot water all the time and it was nice to have coffee waiting for you in the morning rather than having to go out to get it. We didn't use the kitchen as it was always busy in the evening with other people cooking and there was often quite a queue for the 2 free computers with internet (there's a 20 min max. for each user but some of the guests didn't quite get that). The 24 hour reception and security on the door make it feel safe and the smoking area by the front door can be a good place to meet people.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missfranbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed here for a few nights. One of the main reasons was because it had a kitchen but we could never use the kitchen in the day time as the cleaners closed it off rather than being bothered to clean it straight after breakfast. No hot water one day, showeres closed off for over an hour whilst they are getting cleaned and they would not let my partner get clean! I told the manager who could not have cared less. Location good for zocalo but I think next time I am in df I will stay in Roma as that placed looked like there was lots going on.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnttravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here when visiting Mexico city. While the hostel is in a good location, has good beds and bathrooms, it lacks a social area. Due to the layout of the hostel being multiple levels with no common area you are limited in areas to socialise. We were told to go to bed one time as we had one dorm room occupied by a group of friends and we were told off for being too noisy and this was only because we had no where else to go. If travelling solo I therefore would recommend this hostel as the number one place to stay as it would be difficult to meet people. They provide a good breakfast and they have free internet which is a bonus if you can get on. The staff and cleaners are friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMCATAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This place is terrible. Outside there is loads of guys who hassle you and coming from the Ireland I had to climb five flights of stairs just to get to my room which was always roasting. If you want to lose weight then great but I didn't- I just wanted to sleep but I was too hot. Carry a bottle of water or a tank cos when you wake up you are royally dehydrated. Internet use was free but the keys were too hard and the computers were archaic. The sheets they give you are not always clean so check for pubic hairs...no joke. The beds are comfy but pillows are not and the pillow cases are not cleaned. I stayed for 2 nights but seriously would never stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Hotel Sevilla
#174 of 307 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#38 of 211 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#8 of 211 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexico City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexico City Hostel

Property: Mexico City Hostel
Address: Republica de Brasil 8 y 11 | Colonia Centro Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mexico City Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexico City Hostel and its renovated brother Mexico City Hostel Suites consists of two beautiful colonial buildings -right across from each other- and are located just a few steps from Zocalo in Mexico City's Historic Center. This colonial places will make you feel like home involved in a Mexican atmosphere. We are very close to interest places for Mexican tourist as well as backpackers from all around the world, such as galleries, museums, shops, markets, bars or night clubs, artisans, historic buildings, monuments and squares. We provide 3 types of peaceful, comfortable and spacious accommodation: private rooms with bathroom, private rooms without bathroom and cozy dormitories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Mexico City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing