We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good host in a great city.”
Review of Mexico City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mexico City Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed there for a week and I found it great. Just one and a half block from el Zocalo and a subway station. It was easy to go to almost any other part of the city from there.
The layout of the building in multiples levels with no common area (other than the lobby or the kitchen and dinning room), I could have felt limited in areas to interact with other people. Nevertheless, I am the kind of people who leaves after having breakfast and come back before going out for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 408 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

After 6 weeks of travelling round Mexico staying in hostels this was a nice place to find. The room was comfortable and nice and cool at night. The showers had amazing hot water all the time and it was nice to have coffee waiting for you in the morning rather than having to go out to get it. We didn't use the kitchen as it was always busy in the evening with other people cooking and there was often quite a queue for the 2 free computers with internet (there's a 20 min max. for each user but some of the guests didn't quite get that). The 24 hour reception and security on the door make it feel safe and the smoking area by the front door can be a good place to meet people.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missfranbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed here for a few nights. One of the main reasons was because it had a kitchen but we could never use the kitchen in the day time as the cleaners closed it off rather than being bothered to clean it straight after breakfast. No hot water one day, showeres closed off for over an hour whilst they are getting cleaned and they would not let my partner get clean! I told the manager who could not have cared less. Location good for zocalo but I think next time I am in df I will stay in Roma as that placed looked like there was lots going on.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnttravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here when visiting Mexico city. While the hostel is in a good location, has good beds and bathrooms, it lacks a social area. Due to the layout of the hostel being multiple levels with no common area you are limited in areas to socialise. We were told to go to bed one time as we had one dorm room occupied by a group of friends and we were told off for being too noisy and this was only because we had no where else to go. If travelling solo I therefore would recommend this hostel as the number one place to stay as it would be difficult to meet people. They provide a good breakfast and they have free internet which is a bonus if you can get on. The staff and cleaners are friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMCATAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This place is terrible. Outside there is loads of guys who hassle you and coming from the Ireland I had to climb five flights of stairs just to get to my room which was always roasting. If you want to lose weight then great but I didn't- I just wanted to sleep but I was too hot. Carry a bottle of water or a tank cos when you wake up you are royally dehydrated. Internet use was free but the keys were too hard and the computers were archaic. The sheets they give you are not always clean so check for pubic hairs...no joke. The beds are comfy but pillows are not and the pillow cases are not cleaned. I stayed for 2 nights but seriously would never stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed here three nights with my husband at the start of a 5 month trip around Central and South America. Had booked a private room, which was massive, had 2 bunks in it aswell as our double bed. Lockers in bedroom. Shared bathrooms were good, pretty big with big, full length mirrors! Breakfast was toast and eggs, can't go wrong there.

Staff were friendly enough, the best things about this hostel were:
1) the location- extremely central and much cheaper than a lot of others in the area.
2) the building- beautiful, colonial
3) the tours they offer- we did the trip to the Teothicuan Pyramids and a second to see some Mexican wrestling- and both were brilliant with outstanding guides.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilTeaspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This hostel has really great location and this is it's biggest advantage.
I stayed in privet double. Room was clean, bed comfortable however there was hardly any place for our staff even on the floor.
The room walls were really papaer thin so we could hear anything from the bathroom as well as the kitchen- the kitchen was couple of floors down but there was nothing over the kitchen.
Breakfast very basic and the same everyday. For 2 nights it was fine.
staff friendly. Bathrooms clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,436 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#136 of 312 in Mexico City
262 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#42 of 227 in Mexico City
195 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#3 of 227 in Mexico City
314 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#12 of 227 in Mexico City
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexico City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexico City Hostel

Address: Republica de Brasil 8 y 11 | Colonia Centro Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: $10 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mexico City Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexico City Hostel and its renovated brother Mexico City Hostel Suites consists of two beautiful colonial buildings -right across from each other- and are located just a few steps from Zocalo in Mexico City's Historic Center. This colonial places will make you feel like home involved in a Mexican atmosphere. We are very close to interest places for Mexican tourist as well as backpackers from all around the world, such as galleries, museums, shops, markets, bars or night clubs, artisans, historic buildings, monuments and squares. We provide 3 types of peaceful, comfortable and spacious accommodation: private rooms with bathroom, private rooms without bathroom and cozy dormitories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mexico City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing