We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horribly inconvenient and unpleasant ... avoid at all costs!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC
Ranked #105 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
378 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Horribly inconvenient and unpleasant ... avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was by far the worst experience I have ever had at a Holiday Inn Express. I don't even know where to begin, when it comes to the endless hassles and inconveniences we had to put up with at this hotel, but I will try to list them:

(1) There in no in-room safe to store passports and valuables, in spite of Mexico City's questionable reputation for safety. They have exactly 12 safes downstairs (to cater to a hotel with hundreds of rooms), but getting one took lots of effort, and then it was an ordeal every time one wanted to take anything out of there because the front desk ladies would completely ignore us until we started protesting.

(2) Each night we requested a wake-up call, which was never delivered, as a result of which we overslept and nearly missed breakfast each morning. What we would have done if we had an early-morning flight to catch I don't know. By the time we got to the breakfast area most of the nicer breakfast items were gone.

(3) There was no way we could ever get the bellman to call us a regular radio-taxi. Each morning they insisted on getting us their "tourist" car (with the same driver), who overcharged us shamelessly (including on the last day when we checked out and escaped to the Marriott Reforma) and kept harassing us about letting him take us on tours to places we had no interest in visiting. This kind of scam never happened at any of the other Holiday Inn Express hotels we stayed at in Mexico. The bellman also would give us absolutely no information about any public transport options that were available, including the MetroBus stop on nearby Av. Insurgentes.

(4) The water in the shower and sink were never hotter than lukewarm at best, which made showering and shaving pretty uncomfortable. Also, the heating it the room did not work properly, in that the room never got warmer than 18 C even though we set the thermostat to 24 C. Attempts to communicate these issues to the front desk were impossible because the person on duty in the evening hardly spoke any English.

(5) Our key-cards stopped functioning and had to be reset on two occasions, each of which resulted in a lengthy wait at the front desk in order to be served.

(6) The housekeeping never managed to service or clean our room properly. There were always towels or toiletries missing, and the sofa bed was made the first night but conveniently ignored the second night.

Overall we found Mexico to be an amazing country, and this hotel was our worst experience there. I will never recommend this hotel to any of my friends, family, or colleagues.

Room Tip: Don't stay here ... there are plenty of other good hotels in Mexico City to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Witoldzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Roscislaw,

Thank you for the candid review of our property as this will guide us in making the right decisions. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments have been documented and will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to be taken into consideration for future upgrades. We take the confidence our guests place in us and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    128
    78
    38
    26
See reviews for
46
22
21
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
211 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a work conference that was at the World Trade Center. The only good this about this hotel is the location to the WTC & the free wifi. The rooms are horrible. The bathroom sink in the main room. My sink was leaking the entire time. I asked every day to have it fixed it never was. There was mo heat in the room. The room was freezing cold, the entire time. The staff would not even look up my priority club to add to the reservation when I checked in. I am a platunim member. I did not receieve a room upgrade. I was on the 3 floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for work as there was a conference in the World Trade Centre so very convenient as only acros the road. There is a shopping mall next door and places to eat near by so the location is good. The area is also good and safe.

The room was big and ok, but generally a little dirty and worn out. But for the price it was good and it connects to the crown plaza which is more than double the price.

The breakfast was simple Mexican food but good, a little heavy for some with beans, enchaladas, etc.

Ok place stay in all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliasJuarez, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Frequentflyer786, In behalf of the staff working at Holiday Inn Express at WTC we thank you for your comments, we are more than committed to make, every guest stay, a great experience, the breakfast, the friendly staff, the mattresses, the best restaurants at the Crowne Plaza, and of course, just around the corner from the WTC, close by the airport, near by movie theaters, show centers, restaurants, business areas, more now than ever, we are the best choice for bed and breakfast lodging, nobody offers our quality service, I'm Elias Juárez, operation manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I used this hotel for location, since it was across the street of a concert venue, the service was excellent, the rooms could use a bit more color, and could improve the Internet acces. Besides that enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardenas_Campero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliasJuarez, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Cardenas_Campero, ,first of all, everybody that works in the hotel would like to thank you for staying with us, you are right about our privileged location, I spect that during your next visit to Mexico city, we will be able to keep your preference with us. I garantee you that we are working with our wifi service. Sincerely, Elias Juárez, operation manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you are in town for a quick business meeting or you want to be close to the WTC, give it a shot! I assume it is much cheaper than the Crown Plaza next to it but you get the same location and can use the same bar in the hotel complex.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmayerdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliasJuarez, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello jmayerdvm, ,first of all, everybody that works in the hotel would like to thank you for staying with us, we assured you that our service quality exceeds our "bed and breakfast" category, also with our hotel complex you can charge every service at your room and our breakfast is the best, we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Elias Juárez, operation manager, ejuarez@holidayexpresswtc.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Don't like the sink inside the room, also was cloged. Room was confortable, espacious, clean blankets and towels, good TV. Breakfast was included, nothing to chear about, but acceptable. Very near WTC, no bar or restaurant at the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with windows to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliasJuarez, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi, Arturo G, everybody the staff at Holiday Inn Express at WTC are happy to know that you stayed with us, we are the best choice if you are looking for a bed and breakfast hotel, with everything near by to complete a full service hotel experience, the best natural fresh breakfast, free internet, free local calls, next to the best restaurants inside Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, our location is unbeatable, everything that you might need we got it near by, even the airport, we hope that you come back soon, will be a real pleasure to us receive you for a business trip, anyway I'm always at your service, Elias Juárez, operations manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Express WTC and have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The staff was friendly, courteous and communicated well in English and we (Canadian women travelling alone) felt safe and comfortable as soon as we arrived as first time visitors to Mexico City. The room was average, nothing spectacular but definitely very, very clean with exceptionally comfortable beds, great pillows and a fantastic shower. Never ran out of hot water or had a drop in water pressure. The air conditioner worked well. We kept the Do Not Disturb sign on the door everyday and were not bothered once by housekeeping. Plus they were most accommodating when I popped out to get more coffee and towels from their cart in the hallway. Didn't have any issues with internet access; the connection does time-out if you don't use it but it never crapped out in the middle of something.

The free breakfast was great! I don't understand why anyone would complain about it so just nevermind what that guy below wrote. There were all kinds of fresh, delicious cut-up fruit (mango, papaya, cantalope, pineapple), as assorted of yogurts, scrambled eggs with ham (next day with mushrooms), refried beans, some sort of tomatoey potato hot dish, some other spicy delicious tortilla thing, cereal, granola, donuts, pastries, toast, juices, really good coffee. I'm sure I'm forgetting a few things. Anyway, there's definitely lots of variety and all the dishes were refilled and cleared often by the attentive staff.

The location can't be beat for attending events at the WTC (or Pepsi Center). You can walk door-to-door in a couple of minutes. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby, taco stands on every corner and many convenience stores where we promptly picked up a 24 of water for the room even though the tap water is perfectly fine to drink. The neighbourhood feels really safe, this is not the Mexico City you hear about in the news. I feel more uneasy walking around New York or Chicago. Seriously. Even late at night. It's awesome. Not a whole lot of shopping around though if that's your thing. The hotel bar/lounge in the attached Crown Plaza was comfortable, has a late night menu and huge tv screen.

Taxi to the airport was 180 pesos. We gave him 200. It took about 15 minutes very early in the morning but would probably take close to 45 minutes at any other time of day. Just ask the front desk to get you a safe, secure taxi. Or, like James S., you might prefer saving a few bucks and risking your life by flagging a random cab on the street. Keep in mind we're talking pesos so the difference really is negligible. Safety first.

I would absolutely return to this hotel and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliasJuarez, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Somegirl, the whole staff at Holiday Inn Express at WTC are happy to know that you are pleased with our efforts, we are the best choice if you are looking for a bed and breakfast hotel, with everything near by to complete a full service hotel experience, the best natural fresh breakfast, free internet, free local calls, next to the best restaurants inside Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico, our location is unbeatable plus our quality service, everything that you might need we got it, also the airport is at close distance, we hope that you come back soon, will be a real pleasure to us receive you once more, anyway I'm always at your service, ejuarez@holidayexpresswtc.com, Elias Juárez, operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel de Mexico
#63 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
TRYP by Wyndham Mexico City Worl...
#100 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fiesta Inn Insurgentes Viaduct
#60 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#25 of 305 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Filadelfia Suites Hotel Boutique
#151 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC
Address: Calle Dakota 95 | Col Napoles, Mexico City 03810, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is strategically located in the World Trade Center complex, in the financial and commercial district of Mexico City. Entertainment, shops and restaurants in a walking distance - Well-appointed guestrooms, Wireless Internet access, Gym and Terrace. 31 family Suites with breakfast table, microwave, coffee maker, and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites At The Wtc
Holiday Inn Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites At The WTC Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing