We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
Ranked #39 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 8, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the NH Centro Historico for 8 nights in January. It was a great hotel. As a previous poster said, there are some quirky things: you do need to keep a key inserted to have the lights on, and getting in and out of the bathtub is a little awkward, although havinig a bathtub was great. The rooms are small, but when you're in Mexico City, who wants to be in the room! The room has a more modern feel; my bf especially liked the frosted glass bathroom door and the dark wood furniture.

The staff were great. They tried to sell us on tours, but remained amiable when we declined. When we took a side trip for a few days, we left our major luggage in our room (because we booked on Orbitz, we were still paying for it), and it was secure when we returned.

We ordered room service a few times. The food, in my opinion, was reasonably priced for room service, especially given the quality. (I've only ordered room service in the US before, and this was much better quality food). Again, though, it was a little inconsistent: I ordered the same salad twice, and the second time it lacked some of the ingredients. With two of our meals, we ordered Coca-Cola, but only once were the bottles opened.

The only other issue was that the two taxis we used while in DF didn't recognize the name of the hotel. Maybe with time, this will change, but it's a good idea to have the address, and possibly the names of the cross-streets, with you, as one driver asked us about that.

Still, the location and quality far outweigh what we saw as minor issues. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carab20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for NH Mexico City Centro Historico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 920 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2006

If you book the NH Centro Historico directly on their website, you will find the lowest rates. We paid $69 for one night, a great price for this type of hotel, although it may have been because it was a very slow time over Christmas weekend. As another posted commented, it is a serene and quiet place, a lovely change from the total chaos just steps away from the hotel. The location is perfect and extremely convenient. The hotel is nicely decorated. The room was a bit small, but also nicely decorated with a king-sized bed, desk and chair, TV, air conditioning, bathtub/shower combo and black-out drapes. The rooms are soundproofed which means you hear very little from the street and nothing from the hallways - again, may have been because the hotel seemed to be virtually empty. There is a lovely 5th floor restaurant with an outdoor terrace - we did not eat there but it looked very nice. My complaints are small but annoying. The first room we were given was not clean or ready for guests and reeked of smoke. We had asked for a smoking room but this room smelled like there had been a party of smokers. They changed the room without a problem but gave us a non-smoking room. There was a coffee maker, which I had noticed in the hotel information, but no coffee and only one cup. When we asked for coffee, sugar, etc and another cup, they said they would bring it. When we returned later, we did not find these items and when we asked again, we were told they have no coffee. This struck me as strange - why furnish a room with a coffee maker and advertise this if there is no coffee available? This was a small thing and was probably because there was a Starbucks downstairs attached to the lobby. I also chose the hotel because I wanted a bathtub. It was a very small bathtub and difficult to enter - a small step and strange, moveable half-door was somewhat in the way. But both the shower and bathtub were fine - it appeared to be a rather complex design that didn't exactly work. They had toiletries but we had to ask for extra soap as they provided only one small bar for the sink. They also advertise that newspapers are available in the lobby, but they had none. Other than these minor things. we found the hotel to be high quality and a great price. It served our purposes well - a quiet place, comfortable hotel, conveniently located. I would stay there again and would recommend it over other hotels in the area if you are able to get such a good price and are looking for quiet and peace!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AndreaChilanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

The NH Centro Historico is well located, a block away from the Zócalo, close enough to be near, but on a quiet street. The hotel is new (or recently refurbished) and has a pleasant business hotel ambiance. The room is pleasant, decorated in the modern fashion with lots of lights for show and mutiple light switches. My room looked out on a courtyard, little more than a lightwell really, but this was quiet. There was a large TV with several movie channels in English, CNN and a variety of local stations in Spanish. The free wireless access is an appealing feature and this worked fine for me.

A few things spoiled the high standards set by the room decor. The bath/shower was surrounded by a thick wall which made getting in and out unecessarily difficult. You had to put your key card in a holder by the door to operate the room electrics, however the clock had no backup battery, and so lost its settings each time you went out of the room! There was a coffee maker in the room, with one coffee pack when I arrived, however although I stayed for a week this was not replaced. The buffet breakfast was fair, but smoking is allowed in the sections right beside where the food is served. On one day when I ordered a room service breakfast, via the card you hang on the door, it arrived 45 minutes late! When I called room service and asked if the person spoke English the phone was left down with a grunt and nobody returned to it, nor was I transferred to the front desk where the friendly staff do speak excellent English ( I then called them myself).

The NH Centro Historico is in a fine building and has the potential to be very good but they need to look at some of the details.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank gaelflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogutierrez2017, Gerente at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Dear gaelflyer,

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At NH Mexico City Centro Historico we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for and valued. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise, let me tell you that I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job.

We really hope you consider to stay with us again in the future and demonstrate this is not how we usually treat our guests.

Best Regards,

Olivia Gutierrez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

The NH Centro Historico is new and stylishly decorated. The rooms, while not terribly large, are very clean and comfortable, and have nice modern furnishings. The bathrooms are particularly attractive. The rooftop restaurant is pleasant, and I really enjoyed the "Huevos NH" for breakfast. The service, both in the restaurant and the hotel, was very warm and efficient. The views are not particularly inspiring; half the rooms face a very drab courtyard, and the other half look out onto a 1970's-era bank. The other down-side is that the centro historico area, while very lively during the day, can be a ghost town at night. Overall I enjoyed my stay there very much and would gladly return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pcgripka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Eulogio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamata240, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank José P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamata240, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mruizl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamata240, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,422 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,734 reviews
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#121 of 312 in Mexico City
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Mexico City Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Mexico City Centro Historico

Address: Calle Palma 42 | Downtown, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#41 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $87 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Mexico City Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Centro Historico is located in the heart of Mexico City, only a few steps away from the Zocalo (Main Square), the magnificent Metropolitan Cathedral, and the National Library. The hotel offers an ideal starting point to visit the majority of historic buildings and monuments in this capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Mexico City Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Nh Centro Historico Mexico City
NH Mexico City Centro Historico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing