We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
Ranked #33 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We experienced no problems with this hotel. Quite the contrary. It´s location is unbeatable if you are interested in the old historic quarter of the city (National Palace, Rivera murals, Cathedral, Zocalo etc). Bedrooms smallish but clean and quiet, reception staff very helpful. The only slight gripe is that I could not find any European stations (such as BBC) on the TV. This seems to be a common problem in Mexican hotels. However apart from that this was a very pleasant three-day stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for the time you took to review your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico in Mexico City, we welcome your feedback and value the assessment of our hotel's installations and services.

My team and I appreciate the opportunity we had of being of service to you and will be glad to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico in the near future,

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 947 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Mexico City is huge and this hotel in situated on the historical centre of the city (not the main business district).

Pros: It was very clean and the bed was very big, You are able to book tours through reception which was convenient. The wifi was free and had a strong signal. We caught a taxi there from the airport - 300 pesos - but the hotel organised a transfer for us (when we had to taxi back) for only 200 peso - which was great.
During our stay we had the need for a English speaking doctor - which the concierge organised & the doctor arrived very quickly and was very professional.

Cons: The room was small and darkish. The bathroom was quite small and you were only able to shower with a handheld shower attachment - making washing your hair very difficult!. No in-room fridge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniH222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Mr.

I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Histórico hotel in Mexico City, I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.
Our aim is to provide our guests with excellent service, quality food and beverages and a comfortable room to rest.
My team and I would appreciate the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico and of being of service to you in the near future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations.
Sincerely
Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Pros: Situation in Mexico city, bed quality, cleanness, breakfast choice and quality when no rush.

Cons: We could not sleep at all the first night because of partying hotel neighbors next door, we had the reception to contact them in order to quiet them, which had almost no effect. We then asked to change room, which was no issue for the hotel, but we landed in a much smaller room (I think third the size of the original one), so that was not ideal, since the hotel didn't seem fully booked at all.
Breakfast is good but staff is easily pressed on rush hour and buffet was quite empty the second morning.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank levincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Mr.

I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico hotel in Mexico City, I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.

The management staff and I are dedicated to offer the quality and standard of services you expect from a hotel like the NH Centro Histórico,

My team and I would appreciate the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico and of being of service to you in the near future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I missed a flight and got stuck in Mexico City for the night. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay another night and check out more of the city. The hotel is very quiet, clean and comfortable, breakfast was quite good with lots of variety. The location is wonderful and very safe. We had a really great 2 night stay. WiFi occasionally slow. Lighting in room was modern but dim.

Room Tip: Room 417. View of building across street, not ugly or spectacular. Complimentary drinks provided in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you took to review your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico in Mexico City, we welcome your feedback and value the assessment of our hotel's installations and services.

Our aim is to provide our guests with excellent service, quality food and beverages and a comfortable room. I am very happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

My team and I appreciate the opportunity we had of being of service to you and will be glad to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico in the near future,

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our room was an odd shape - kind of a wedge, with one small window to the air shaft, making it very dark. I asked to change rooms and I was shown several others at the same price, which were really small. Our friend had booked a "suite", which was one room with a sitting area, but it cost more. The bathtub and shower in our room was an awkward climb over and in arrangement. Her bathroom was perfect. The restaurant upstairs serves a lovely buffet breakfast, but when we tried it for a light dinner after a long day of exploring, it was quite disappointing. Who can't make a club sandwich? The service was polite, and the location is great. Kind of a business hotel, and part of a chain which has much better hotels in other locations. You can do better than this, I am sure, but it was okay. Just okay.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Miss:

I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico hotel in Mexico City, I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.

The management staff and I are dedicated to offer the quality and standard of services you expect from a hotel like the NH Centro Histórico, and the deficiencies you mention are definitely not acceptable. I can assure you that steps have been taken to ensure these types of incidents do not occur again.

My team and I would appreciate the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico and of being of service to you in the near future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a reservation and when we arrived on Jan, 14th the receptionist told us, our room could be ready in 20 minutes, if we pay 500 Pesos in cash. Otherwise we would have to wait for hours. Never experienced this practice in any other hotel! Rooms are clean, but very small. For elder or handicapped people it might be difficult to take a shower, steps are very high.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagmar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico hotel in Mexico City, I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.
For me is very important comment that'll check the procedure of early check in order not to cause misunderstanding

My team and I would appreciate the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico and of being of service to you in the near future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great location, really friendly staff and quick check in/out. Bar was closed and there were 'suspension' notices all over the place as they hadn't displayed their rates properly or something. The rooms were really small and very dark and a bit cold, but as to be expected given the location. I didn't really like the bathrooms as the showers were not too hot and it was difficult to get out of the bath. There were no headboards on the beds (singles) which I thought was a bit basic.

The breakfasts were pretty ok though and the location is good for sightseeing, although I think if I was staying again I would choose a hotel in the Zona Roma or Contesa as there are more restaurants and bars around there and the restaurants around NH Centro are touristy and bad food (but great views of the square).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucysmith31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Miss:

I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico hotel in Mexico City, I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.

My team and I would appreciate the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico and of being of service to you in the near future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,
Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,463 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
853 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,810 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#113 of 312 in Mexico City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Mexico City Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Mexico City Centro Historico

Address: Calle Palma 42 | Downtown, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#41 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $81 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Mexico City Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Centro Historico is located in the heart of Mexico City, only a few steps away from the Zocalo (Main Square), the magnificent Metropolitan Cathedral, and the National Library. The hotel offers an ideal starting point to visit the majority of historic buildings and monuments in this capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your NH Mexico City Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Nh Centro Historico Mexico City
NH Mexico City Centro Historico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing