We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Condesa DF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Condesa DF
Ranked #178 of 304 Hotels in Mexico City
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Beautiful hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We read the reviews before choosing this hotel on our first trip to Mexico city. When we arrived we were amazed by the place and its location, it is settled infront of a park apart from the hectic city life. It is quite centric so it is easy to get around the city. The staff was very friendly and the service was very good. We recomend you try one of the signature coktails in the terrace.
We will definitively return to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalia968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    91
    57
    60
    41
See reviews for
26
136
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Located in the quiet neighborhood of Condesa-Roma, this was an old Casona remodeled into a hip, modern hotel. Rooms are quite small but comfortable. Their best feature is their breakfasts. It gets loud at nigh on weekends because they have a lounge/disco at night until early morning hours. We luckily got a room on the other side of the building away from the lounge an never heard anything. They tried to charge for water which we never consumed. The roof top lounge is nice w beautiful views of Chapultepec.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MariaMechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

As of October 30 there were bed bugs in room 4 on the first floor. To be fair, the hotel itself is very nice, the location is great, the restaurant was quite good, and the room did appear to be very clean when we checked in. Given the horror stories we have experienced on our various travels, we did a quick initial check of the mattress and everything looked fine. The light from the street lamp was intrusively bright and made it difficult to sleep - which may have been the reason we noticed the bug against the white sheets in the first place.

We pride ourselves as pretty reasonable travelers and were willing to give the hotel a chance, but when we went to the reception desk to say that we needed to check out early (after day 1 of a scheduled 4 day stay) they didn't even ask why we were leaving. From this reaction, I can only conclude that they knew very well that there had been bed bugs in the room and were just hoping that they'd got rid of them or that we wouldn't see them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank English_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan b, General Manager at Condesa DF, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Ms. English:
thank you for your comments, we are taking actions immediately regard the problem you had duirng your stay. I guarantee this problem will be solved as soon as possible.

Thank you again for your time
Dan Bielak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

we stayed in the Condesa DF for 5 days, and i can say it was one of
the best experiences in my years of travel.
first of all the hotel is in the La Condesa Neighborhood of Mexico City,
which is simply a paradise in its self. La Condesa has wide streets and a
ton of beautiful trees and parks, cafes, bars, boutiques, you name it.
it is also centrally located(with in walking distance of the Reforma, Zona Rosa, Roma and Chipultepec Park), near the Chapultepec metro stop.
the hotel has a fantastic breakfast, and i mean fantastic. the service in general
is excellent and they have a happening roof top bar, and gourmet restaurant,
business center, drivers if you need them etc etc
the only caveat is that at times the bar can get a little loud for some rooms,
but wow all in all i loved the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgerber948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
214 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Everytime I go to Mexico city, I make sure I go to Condesa DF. The food at their lovely restaurant is all right, and the roof top bar is cozy. The thing about this place is the building itself. The design is so special, that it provides an amazing ambiance.
I just love to sip a cup of coffee for a breakfast meeting and absorb the beauty of the building, or drink a nice cocktail at the roof top.
Oh, their little store in the lobby is super cute, on the pricey side, but ideal to find an original gift.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaortiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

It is a nice place! Food was good. Service did not deliver. Internet does not work. And never photocopy a credit card on both sides of your customer, never!!! If they ask do not let them, even if they say it is a common practice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejoballen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Condesa DF (Saturday to Tuesday). The place is stylish and cool but the service was terrible.

BOOKING PROCESS / ARRIVAL: I had booked, through the hotel's own website, a "balcony view double". But the room we were given (I.VII) had neither balcony nor view.
I had also included an airport transfer with the booking. They took the details of our flight and confirmed the transfer by email. Upon arrival at the airport there was no car waiting, and I had to call the hotel three times (they kept saying they would call me back, but didn't). After waiting an hour they told us no drivers were available and we should take a taxi. Very infuriating.

ROOM: The room (I.VII, first floor) was quite large though a bit dark. Comfy bed. Good shower though the bathroom lacked natural light. We found the place very quiet. Not much wardrobe /storage space.
WiFi was dodgy on our floor but worked ok downstairs or on the roof.

CLEANLINESS: Room was clean, bathroom also very clean, housekeeping did a good job while we were there. Shower gel etc in tiny bottles and not replaced even though we stayed three nights.

BAR / RESTAURANT The rooftop bar was great, cool atmosphere, excellent cocktails, and the sushi was pretty good. The rooftop bar staff were excellent and attentive. Shame I couldnt say the same about the hotel staff.
The ground floor restaurant had reasonable food. Breakfast was ok, nice fresh fruit, yoghurt and granola but the bread and pastries were a bit stale and uninspiring. Breakfast staff were very slow and unattentive.

SERVICE: Reception was manned by a team of totally incompetent people who barely speak English. Very smiley but totally unable to assist or sort out anything that had gone wrong. As we were leaving, we asked them to check the bus schedule for Oaxaca. We had plenty of time to catch a 3pm bus assuming there was one then. It took the receptionist 20 minutes to find out when the buses left, and by the time he had done that we missed the 3pm bus which was incredibly annoying and had to wait ages for the next one. Another receptionist was totally clueless about the tours avertised at the front desk. He tried to sell us one to Teotihaucan but it turned out the site was closed for the day.

This hotel is trying to be a top quality boutique hotel. It looks good but really needs to be better managed and have front desk staff who are more competent and speak better English.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#47 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#45 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Condesa
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#133 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
#142 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 304 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Roma
La Valise Hotel
La Valise Hotel
#8 of 304 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condesa DF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condesa DF

Property: Condesa DF
Address: Avenida Veracruz 102 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Condesa DF 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Condesa DF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condesa Df Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing