We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ATMOSPHERE, FOOD AND SERVICE”
Review of De Mar a Mar

De Mar a Mar
Ranked #99 of 6,685 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cuauhtemoc District
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed this place so much we went twice during our 5 days stay in CDMX. The food was very good, the service was friendly and timely in a laid back atmosphere. The seafood and rice soup is paricularly delicious and hardy.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank saberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 463 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2019

the ceviche is excellent The choices seem to vary by season.a cocktail and/or wine list would be a good improvement, even in Spanish (for gringos like myself)
Sparkling clean, i would try amost anything they offer

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ADog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Pro
Comfortable room with blonde wood and Portuguese-style title.
Waitstaff is happy to speak English with those whose Spanish isn’t great. :-)
Vegetarian option available by request
Nice house Mezcal cocktail
Foodie vibe in an otherwise dull neighborhood of offices

Con
Smoking allowed

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank GoesToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

Travelling with our teenage children, we were looking for a ‘real’ restaurant in zona rosa. Looking at all the reviews, we decided to reserve a table at mar-a-mar via our hotel: we had a great night. It was raining non stop, but inside the restaurant ‘upstairs ‘ it was super. The staff was very patient with our almost non-existent Spanish: they helped us in English! Already experienced with the language challenge I had pre-translated their menu with Google translate (see attached) which helped.
This is a fish restaurant and I had checked with the children whether they were ok with it. Most of us had 2 courses (either starter and main or main and dessert), we had nice mexican wines (1 bottle of white, 1 red). The quality of the dishes was excellent, as I would expect them in an American or European quality restaurant.
Muchas gracias to the staff.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank rinset2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019 via mobile

We could only get one of the starters we ordered, but they offered an alternative almost twice as expensive. The tuna ceviche was more a tuna sashimi with some extras and the rest of the food was not the greatest as well.

Every time that we ordered we had two or three waiters at our table which felt a bit aggressive. We left before desert because of the vibe the staff gave us.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank TCC1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Mar a Mar also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to De Mar a Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing