We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tranquil place with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Great tranquil place with great staff”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable stay at the hostel. The place is very relaxed and just gives a very comfortable feeling. Spacious rooms and super clean (also the bathrooms!!). Close to everything, staff is great!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    111
    22
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
84
116
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin, texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here twice during my time in DF. Once, I had the mini-room (it's not that mini...if it's available and you want privacy, take it!). My only issue with it was that the curtains were see-through at night when I had the lights on.

The second time i stayed there, the mini was not available, so I stayed on the second floor in a 5-bed female dorm. It was bigger than my condo at home! No bunkbeds! Individual lockers (they provide the lock and key!) and a shared bathroom between only the 5 girls. Clean. Huge. Plenty of hooks and places to put your stuff. The walls are paper thin, so bring earplugs...not that it was loud, but you can hear every flush of toilet and bird chirp outside the window.

The people who work there are nice (although some don't know too much about the area) and even though it feels kinds of sketchy in the hood, it's actually super safe. Walking distance to TONS of stuff. They helped arrange a pretty good tour.

I skipped breakfast after the first day...I much prefer to find Mexican things around town.

I can't compare it to any other place, but if you want a simple, quiet, friendly, safe place, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: All female dorm is the huge and clean. The mini is great if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great location, only draw back is you cant drive down the road the hostel is on so if you are a woman alone arriving late at night it might be a bit scary. Rooms were very big, fans but not aircon. Very clean! Good breakfast every morning. Individual large lockers in the rooms so no worries about theft. Security guard on the door 24/7 and reception available 24/7. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Approx 5 mins walk to the metro/main square/cathedral.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nz-ncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I've stayed here twice now during my stay in Mexico, and both times have been near perfect. The 5 room dorm is spacious and is over 2 rooms, with ensuite. Everything is spotless, and that says alot as I am quite picky..! Most importantly, the staff are incredibly friendly - even when i had to check in at 2.30am! When you ask for a taxi they ring a private company and their security guard walks you to the corner and waits with you until it arrives. I really can't fault anything and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vuganou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at Casa San Ildefonso for a total of 5 nights (at the beginning and end of our Mexican trip). I'd booked a double bedroom with a private bathroom. The double bedrooms are huge and comfortable, clean and simply decorated. The building itself is lovely and have a proper Mexican feel to it. The breakfast is included in the rate: nice bread, fruits, cereals, juice, tea, coffee etc... as much as you want. The communal areas are nicely done - TV room and lounge. There's a guard 24/7. All the staff are extremely helpful and nice. The hostel is conveniently located - few minutes walk from the Zocalo and the cathedral. You can store your luggage safely during the day if you have a late flight. We were even able to use the communal showers before taking our flight. Again, I found the communal bathroom very clean. I would definitely recommend this place. It's all you need, in the location you need. The price is very reasonable too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A very comfortable and secure place to stay in Mexico City. Great location in historico centro highly recommended hostel. Very quite at nights also and security always willing to help at the gate. ..............,,,,,,,,,.....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillandTalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed there 2 nights with my boyfriend in the private bedroom with private bedroom. Incredibly good value, clean and well presented space. Great location. Very helpful staff with good english. They kindly allowed us to check in at 6am as the room was free which was unbelievably welcome as we were knackered after our flight got in so early and pretty much no-where was open. Security is great there and there's always someone in. Great stay would recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
672 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
638 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
2,427 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#37 of 306 in Mexico City
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Ildefonso Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Ildefonso Hostal

Property: Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Address: Calle San Ildefonso # 38 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 206 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa San Ildefonso Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming quiet pedestrian street in the heart of Mexico City, Casa San Ildefonso is a hostel that opens its doors to you offering you an authentic laid back experience where friendly familiar service meets cleanliness and comfort.Spacious yet cosy rooms will receive you inside a recently renovated 19th century building that is one block away from the Templo Mayor and Zocalo. We believe in providing you with a type of accommodation that will only enhance your journey. We have outdoor movie nights, family dinners and a truly authentic tour offer.More than a hostel, Casa San Ildefonso is your house for the amount of time you decide to submerge yourself in the cultural richness of Mexico City, in its traditions, its flavors and its people. Let us host you. Travel like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa San Ildefonso Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing