We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a warm place to stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Pros:
The staff is really really nice, even those who speak a little English did their best to be of help
The rooms are basic but finely furnished
The terrace is amazing, especially to have breakfast

Cons:
The privacy might be improved with a courtain covering the glass above the door (you can see inside the rooms from upstairs)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beneal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Director General at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest, we are happy to hear you enjoyed breakfasts at the sunny terrace! We were very happy to host you, thank you for the comment about the curtains, we are working on that.
We hope you visiti again soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    114
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
87
118
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at Casa San Ildefonso for four nights. It was brilliant, the whole place has a charm to it and Christina was amazing! Did not feel like a hostel instead it was more like a boutique hotel. The rooms are huge with comfortable beds, simple yet chic. In terms of location it's in central, Zocalo is the nearest subway station which is a ten minute walk from the hostel, and very covenient to get around the city. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, General Manager at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Nomera! thank you for choosing the hostel for your stay in this great city. It was nice having you here! Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was in Casa San Ildefonso with my friends for three days and our stay can be easily described: EVERYTHING was fabulous!!! Christina and her mum are the friendliest and helpfulness’ hosts!!!
Our room, in fact we had three rooms plus a bathroom (and that for four people), was huge! I have never been in a hostel with rooms that big and spacious! The room had two sofas, tables and lockers as well, so everything was there which you would possibly need for a chilled evening with friends.
If that tremendous space was not enough, the casa also had a very nice TV-room (with a large flat screen), a sort of living room with a big wooden table and a very nice decorated (in the evenings candles were lit) patio with singing birds.
Moreover, there is a kitchen, with everything one could possibly need (a fridge, small oven, microwave, dishes, cutlery, free water etc).During the day there is always juice for free in the fridge.
In the morning the casa offers breakfast consisting for bread rolls and marmalade, which is not luxurious but enough to have a good start into the day. If that should not be enough there is a café next doors (which offers a nice mocha and good hamburgers).
The location of the casa is great as well. It is a 10 minute walk to the Zócalo. And a metro station is also nearby, if it is not closed… at night you can easily go out to a club although you should be careful and if it gets too late it might be better to take a taxi back (which is really cheap (20pesos))
The staff is very friendly and welcoming as well. They were always there for us (also at night) and were always welcoming to help. They lent us a hairdryer and even borrowed there Ipad!!!

To conclude, I can really really recommend this hostel. It is brand new (two months old), situated in a very nice colonial house and the price is more than ok as well (we paid 13 dollar per pers/night incl. breakfast and agreed that we would also be willing to pay more!)!!!

Room Tip: When traveling alone I would also recommend to take a dorm room, as all rooms have lockers and are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egidick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Director General at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Juan Pablo, espero te encuentres bien. Siento mucho que el hostal no haya cumplido tus expectativas, sin embargo te comento que hemos reforzado la supervisión para que los detalles que comentas no vuelvan a suceder, una disculpa si éstos te generaron inconvenientes. Esperamos nos des la oportunidad de servirte nuevamente. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My review of this place is a little mixed, but mostly on the good side. The place is new, so just needs a couple of things attended to.

The place is brand new, so beds are very comfortable and clean. Rooms are absolutely massive, with big opening windows. Old brick building, so there was absolutely no need for a/c - in fact we got a bit cold at night, but enough blankets on the bed.

Breakfast was reasonable - selection of breads, jam/honey, coffee and tea. No cereal/yoghurt though.

The young guy & girl working there in the afternoons are very friendly and helpful. There is always a security guard working at the front door, so you feel absolutely safe.

Now what let me down. They don't have laundry facilities, then it took 2 days for them to find us a business within a reasonable distance to do the washing for us. What really annoyed us though was the attitude from an older French woman (whom I assume is one of the owners) - typical French arrogance, she said straight out "we don't have those services; we get them next week", but then didn't want to help me find anywhere nearby - she just shrugged her shoulders as if to say "not my problem".

The Wi-Fi was on and off, but it's Mexico, so you can't expect too much.

We stayed for 4 nights, but we had to ask downstairs on the 3rd day for someone to come and give us new towels and toilet paper, and empty the bins.

If it wasn't for the attitude of the French woman, I would say this place is great, and would return. Assuming they now have laundry facilities, and you don't have to deal with her, there's nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Director General at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Yael! Nos da muchísimo gusto que hayas estado contento aquí en Casa San Ildefonso. Una enorme disculpa por la falla en el Internet aquel día, ten la seguridad que se ha solucionado y no fallara mas en tus futuras estancias. Esperamos verte pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place is not only beautiful, super central yet in a quiet street, and very well equiped and clean, the staff will also go out of their way to help! They made me feel so welcome and made sure I had everything I needed, even some medicine to get rid of my cough!
The rooms have lots of space and very comfortable beds, the only things is that the ceilings are beautifully high, so bring earplugs in case you´re staying in the dorm :)
Overall wondferful experience, excellent service, best hostel I´ve ever been to!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sterre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time! its right in the middle of everything and at the same time a quiet and very pleasant place to sit and relax. The staff are very nice and helpfull and the beds are very comfortable. Really lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Director General at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi Karin! We were very happy to have you as guests in Casa San Ildefonso, we hope you come back soon and stay longer! :) Greeting all the way to Tel Aviv!
Cheers!

Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We loved our short 2 night stay at San Ildefonso. The beautiful courtyard was a great place to chill and eat breakfast and the hotel is within walking distance to all of Mexico city's attractions. Christina was so lovely, she drew a map for us of some great places to visit and recommended some very good food and bars. She definitely made us feel welcome and I would recommend his hotel/hostel to anyone who wants to explore Mexico City.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara22NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,373 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
747 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#27 of 310 in Mexico City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,613 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#4 of 219 in Mexico City
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Ildefonso Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Ildefonso Hostal

Property: Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Address: Calle San Ildefonso # 38 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa San Ildefonso Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming quiet pedestrian street in the heart of Mexico City, Casa San Ildefonso is a hostel that opens its doors to you offering you an authentic laid back experience where friendly familiar service meets cleanliness and comfort.Spacious yet cosy rooms will receive you inside a recently renovated 19th century building that is one block away from the Templo Mayor and Zocalo. We believe in providing you with a type of accommodation that will only enhance your journey. We have outdoor movie nights, family dinners and a truly authentic tour offer.More than a hostel, Casa San Ildefonso is your house for the amount of time you decide to submerge yourself in the cultural richness of Mexico City, in its traditions, its flavors and its people. Let us host you. Travel like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa San Ildefonso Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing