We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My review of this place is a little mixed, but mostly on the good side. The place is new, so just needs a couple of things attended to.

The place is brand new, so beds are very comfortable and clean. Rooms are absolutely massive, with big opening windows. Old brick building, so there was absolutely no need for a/c - in fact we got a bit cold at night, but enough blankets on the bed.

Breakfast was reasonable - selection of breads, jam/honey, coffee and tea. No cereal/yoghurt though.

The young guy & girl working there in the afternoons are very friendly and helpful. There is always a security guard working at the front door, so you feel absolutely safe.

Now what let me down. They don't have laundry facilities, then it took 2 days for them to find us a business within a reasonable distance to do the washing for us. What really annoyed us though was the attitude from an older French woman (whom I assume is one of the owners) - typical French arrogance, she said straight out "we don't have those services; we get them next week", but then didn't want to help me find anywhere nearby - she just shrugged her shoulders as if to say "not my problem".

The Wi-Fi was on and off, but it's Mexico, so you can't expect too much.

We stayed for 4 nights, but we had to ask downstairs on the 3rd day for someone to come and give us new towels and toilet paper, and empty the bins.

If it wasn't for the attitude of the French woman, I would say this place is great, and would return. Assuming they now have laundry facilities, and you don't have to deal with her, there's nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Director General at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013
Google Translation

Hola Yael! Nos da muchísimo gusto que hayas estado contento aquí en Casa San Ildefonso. Una enorme disculpa por la falla en el Internet aquel día, ten la seguridad que se ha solucionado y no fallara mas en tus futuras estancias. Esperamos verte pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 322 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place is not only beautiful, super central yet in a quiet street, and very well equiped and clean, the staff will also go out of their way to help! They made me feel so welcome and made sure I had everything I needed, even some medicine to get rid of my cough!
The rooms have lots of space and very comfortable beds, the only things is that the ceilings are beautifully high, so bring earplugs in case you´re staying in the dorm :)
Overall wondferful experience, excellent service, best hostel I´ve ever been to!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sterre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time! its right in the middle of everything and at the same time a quiet and very pleasant place to sit and relax. The staff are very nice and helpfull and the beds are very comfortable. Really lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Director General at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hi Karin! We were very happy to have you as guests in Casa San Ildefonso, we hope you come back soon and stay longer! :) Greeting all the way to Tel Aviv!
Cheers!

Cris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We loved our short 2 night stay at San Ildefonso. The beautiful courtyard was a great place to chill and eat breakfast and the hotel is within walking distance to all of Mexico city's attractions. Christina was so lovely, she drew a map for us of some great places to visit and recommended some very good food and bars. She definitely made us feel welcome and I would recommend his hotel/hostel to anyone who wants to explore Mexico City.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara22NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Brand new, impeccably clean, ample, well-lit rooms (a table would be nice, I am sure managers would comply if asked), excellent facilities (kitchen, laundry area, dining room, TV lounge, game room, outdoor sitting areas, etc.), decor quirky and beautiful, staff super-friendly and helpful, centrally located but on quiet back street, very close to metro-bus connection to airport...best place I have stayed in DF!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bemasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, General Manager at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi Bemasha, good afternoon. The entire Casa San Ildefonso team is very happy to hear you had a nice stay with us. We will definitely keep in mind your comment about a desk inside rooms as we know many guests would probably find it useful. Thanks so much for your comments. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was very friendly, helpful and attended to all of our needs. The security (24h) was excellent, which was important because of the location in the Centro Historico. Even the security guards were extremely helpful and friendly. The area was walkable and all of the important touristic locations were close. The closest metro station, Zocalo, was not easy to reach however, because during our stay there were a lot of protests going on and the whole Zocalo area was chaotic. During a normal week the metro should be easy to use. The building was amazingly beautiful and the rooms were perfectly clean and in good condition. The interior design was simple yet full of colourful and interesting details. During our stay it was quiet and peaceful, despite the location in the centre. The yard was comfortable and welcoming, and there is also a tv room and a dining room. The breakfast is included and consists of delicious bread, orange juice and tea/coffee, which was good considering the price. The staff also spoke very good English.

We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to have a pleasant stay in the otherwise lively and vibrant Mexico City.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stay for 5 nights and the experience was wonderful , helpful and friendly staff , Cristina the manage is very nice.
The Hotel is very beautiful and made with a lot of good taste.
The location is fun and very good to explore the center with out feeling noises and danger.
Beautiful open air space.
Really recomend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etmunda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Gerente at Casa San Ildefonso Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Etmunda!! We were very happy to hear that you han a comfortable stay. Hope to host you again in the future. We miss cervero already,
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 231 in Mexico City
414 reviews
Hostel Suites DF
#5 of 231 in Mexico City
217 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#12 of 231 in Mexico City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#26 of 231 in Mexico City
102 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo Suites
Hostel Amigo Suites
#38 of 231 in Mexico City
267 reviews
CDMX Hostel Art Gallery
#7 of 231 in Mexico City
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Ildefonso Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Ildefonso Hostal

Address: Calle San Ildefonso # 38 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: $17 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa San Ildefonso Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming quiet pedestrian street in the heart of Mexico City, Casa San Ildefonso is a hostel that opens its doors to you offering you an authentic laid back experience where friendly familiar service meets cleanliness and comfort.Spacious yet cosy rooms will receive you inside a recently renovated 19th century building that is one block away from the Templo Mayor and Zocalo. We believe in providing you with a type of accommodation that will only enhance your journey. We have outdoor movie nights, family dinners and a truly authentic tour offer.More than a hostel, Casa San Ildefonso is your house for the amount of time you decide to submerge yourself in the cultural richness of Mexico City, in its traditions, its flavors and its people. Let us host you. Travel like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa San Ildefonso Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing