We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, bad service, tiny portions”

Anatol en Las Alcobas
Reserve with OpenTable
Anatol en Las Alcobas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 4,512 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Anatole France
Description: Anatol restaurant is a seasonal, consciously sourced ingredient driven restaurant. The menu consists of composed small plates, presented in a social and casual environment. Chef Justin Ermini and Pastry Chef Mayra Victoria were inspired by their experience both living and working on a Relaise Chateau property attached to a three hundred acre organic farm. It was there that their passion for “Farm to Table” cuisine grew. They are committed to being environmentally conscious and their approach to cuisine is rooted in classical techniques. The passion behind Anatol restaurant is to give our guests a laid back, food driven dining experience.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Expensive, bad service, tiny portions”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a terrible experience. Slow service, didn't get what we ordered, bad food, tiny, tiny portions, and very expensive. Well served, everything looks nice on the plate although you get, for example, five very tiny pieces of fish when you order a sahimi. Mac and cheese: sooo bad! Ravioli: no flavor at all. It's a shame.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    61
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food, Uninspiring Service”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We came here given the excellent reviews on TA and the proximity to our hotel. We were seated without a reservation on a Saturday night in a beautiful, very well decorated dining room that was both modern and romantic. We ordered some delicious cocktails - quite possibly the best margarita I've ever had! So at first we were very impressed.

However the service suddenly became terrible. We waited nearly 30 minutes after receiving our cocktails to order food. Our waiter seemed to have disappeared. And we weren't the only folks in the restaurant wondering where our waiter went. After a long period of time it seems the entire waitstaff came out of the kitchen laughing with some friends of theirs, who sat down at a table and talked loudly (and drunkenly) until they were finally asked to leave. It was all a very strange experience for a restaurant supposedly of this caliber - and on a Saturday no less!

Once we finally received our food it was quite good - I had some Dorado fish while my dining partner had the chicken. Both were very excellently presented and had a great combination of flavors. We stuffed ourselves and skipped dessert - though we did have to flag down our waiter in order to get attention throughout the meal.

All in all it was very disappointing experience for a restaurant with this quality of food. I'm not sure what the manager was doing that night, but most of the people in the restaurant that evening seemed upset at the quality of service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregoryfishki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal ever!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Everything on the menu was delicious, we dined twice during our stay. Classic cocktails and most delicious farm to table restaurant perhaps in all of Mexico.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GuneetDavisCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New and hot!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The food is outstanding! Every dish is surprising in taste and presentation. The menu is short, which is always a good way to keep quality high! The location is great and the place is casual and stylish. A great option for a night out - few drinks and a great dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More than "comfort food!"”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

TA reviews refer to "comfort food," but in my opinion this is very misleading. Yes, it does offer Mac and Cheese, but most of the menu is very sophisticated but not overly complicated or "precious." Only open 7 months, but it has its act together.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank plrPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anatol en Las Alcobas also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Anatol en Las Alcobas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing