We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teotihuacan & Family Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mexico City Urban Adventures

Mexico City Urban Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.35*
and up
Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square
Ranked #5 of 100 Tours in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Day tours, with a local Urban Adventures are the day tours with a difference! In just a few hours we get under the skin of the city you're visiting - so you know it like a local! In fact many of our travellers are locals - seeing their own city in a different way! We offer food tours, market tours, Teotihuacan pyramids tours, Lucha Libre tours and many other great experiences in Mexico City!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Teotihuacan & Family Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked the Teotihuacan tour and were thrilled with the experience. Mario & Cesar were our guides and both were so friendly, funny, and intelligent. We took public transportation the whole way (subway, bus, taxi) which was fun and an interesting way to travel to the pyramids. Mario was very accommodating, teaching us all about the history of Teotihuacan and allowing us to explore on our own as well.

We visited a local obsidian workshop and souvenir shop with Phillip, who had us laughing quite a bit. We learned about the many uses of the maguey plant and had a "happy hour" where we tasted pulque, tequila and mexcal. Next we saw all the beautiful obsidian sculptures. Mario made it clear that we were not obligated to buy anything but we bought a few small things because they were so beautiful and clearly handmade.

Next stop was a family factory that produces liquors, jams, and salsa's. We got to sample everything, very delicious! On our way to the factory we walked through the Teotihuacan town, which is beautiful.

Last stop was the family dinner. The food was incredible and everyone was so nice. Mario and Cesar are so easy to talk to. I honestly felt like we spent the day with a couple of friends, exploring the pyramids and town and meeting new people.

I highly recommend this tour to anyone. Thank you, Mario & Cesar!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Markets and Food Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had an awesome time with my tour guide Mario. He was very knowledgeable about the food and markets of Mexico City. He took the fear out of trying the street food and all of it was delicious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Teotihuacán by public transit & Mexico City Markets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked our Teotihuacan tour randomly based on reviews with Trip Advisor. We met up with Luis early in the afternoon and he took us on a phenomenal tour of the ruins. He directed us expertly through public transportation, took all the guess work around where to go, and answered all sorts of random questions about Mexico City (like, who ARE those guys in the khaki playing their accordions all over the city?). After our well guided tour around Teotihuacán and watching the sun set through the ruins, Luis took us to enjoy some pulque (YUM!!!) and look at local crafts, and we had an amazing dinner with a local family. He brought us back to our metro station and made sure we knew how to get home. He was such a phenomenal guide, that we booked him for a Mexico City Market Tour.

For our Mexico City Market Tour, Luis picked us up at the MUNI museum, and we visited the Mercado Sonora, Mercado Jamaica, La Merced, Mercado San Juan (this was not originally on the list, but Luis had forgotten to send us the market name and location after our previous tour and wanted to make sure we had a chance to see it). We tried all sorts of local foods, chatted with various vendors, and got a great up close and personal tour of the local markets. Luis is quite knowledgeable about art, history, and food. He was a terrific guide and we would choose to take a tour with him, and Urban Adventures again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank evvivalaviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“These guys rock!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have been introduced to these guys through the B&B where we stayed in Mexico City and booked the "Mexico City Markets and Food" and "Beyond Mexico City: Hidden Teotihuacán & Family Dinner" tours.
Since the very first moment we met, Milton, Luis and Mario have been very friendly and welcoming with us.
Their english was absolutely perfect even though we preferred to speak spanish with them to enjoy the full experience!
They knew exactly what they were talking about, being very prepared and detailed about art, history, language, traditions and food.
They definitely made the whole experience unique and not like the usual, stereotyped and conventional guided tours, where at the end of the day we felt like having a walk with friends, rather than being just tourists.
One of the highlights was definitely having a dinner with a local family after Teotihuacán.
The food was home made and unbelievably good and the family itself was great and warm!

Definitely book a tour with them if you are looking into enjoying an alternative experience in Mexico City!

Muchas gracias por esta maravillosa experiencia!

Roberto y Grazia.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank calexico7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
1 review
“Laughing all the way there and back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Awesome! Luis was our tour guide and is definitely one of the best in the business! Down to earth and completely passionate about Mexican history, he was extremely helpful in allowing us to get to know the real Mexico - politics and all! This tour was extremely relaxing - experiencing the Mexico City bus and metro system, having a quiet time at Teotihuacan in the afternoon (most of the tourists were gone), traveling to a small village just outside of Teotihuacan where we got to learn about obsidian carving and the one million uses of an agave cactus! We enjoyed tequila, mescal and pulque and had the most amazing food at the home of a local family. We laughed the whole time (minion! haha) and I would definitely recommend this tour!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico City Urban Adventures also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mexico City Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing