We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel in convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza Revolucion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
Ranked #29 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We visited Mexico City for five nights as part of our three week holiday. I would class the hotel as a boutique hotel. It is small but everything is modern and clean. The bedroom was modern and the bed was so comfortable, nice to come back to at the end of the day spent walking around the city. We tried breakfast there one morning but the lady serving us did not seem to be very sure of what she was doing and it was expensive for what we got!! We found a litte cafe two blocks down that served the best scrambled eggs and coffee for a fraction of the price. There is a metro stop around the corner which we used every day. It is the best way to get around such a massive city. We ventured to Zona Rosa one night but the rest of the time we ate locally. The restaruant in the Melia across the road was lovely and there is an Argentinan steak house around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    260
    50
    17
    8
See reviews for
70
238
64
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 2 night. The location is great. 5 minutes from plaza revolucion and 15 minutes from the center. Many nice restaurants around.
The decoration of the room is modern with a lot of mirrors inside. Hot water all day. No minibar in the room (in case you need..).
Breakfast was nice, but you can pay half a price just walking out for a nice restaurant.

I was very pleased from the price,room,stuff and location :)

Einat

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EinatAck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valle de Bravo, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Plaza Revolucion for 3 days and will be staying there again. The rooms are small and stuffy but we could open the balcony door and that helped. We liked that the room was new, the bathroom was modern with HOT water and the internet was great. We also liked the in-room safe, the comfy king size bed and the flat screen tv with cable. We booked our rooms at a good rate by emailing the hotel directly. However, when we check out, they said the room was actually $10 more a night. It took a while for them to find our reservation after which we got it at the price we secured. I would make sure you reserve you rooms at the online rates. the posted rate at the hotel is much higher. The area is ok. our friends in Mexico City said we could look for something in a much nicer area but we are fine with the location. We walked to the Zocalo (about a 1/2 hour). there is the teacher's strike going on but that didn't bother us. lots of people camping in the street to protest the new laws put in place for teachers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed in Mexico City for 2 nights on my own and I think I made a very good choice with this boutique hotel. The location was very good as I wanted to stay in downtown area and explore that side of town. Its right next to Monumento a la Revolución but I wasn't able to enjoy it as there seams to be a temporary sit in and people living in plastic camps! Anyway I walked through and walked all around the city.There is a supermarket right across the street, and a starbucks just round the corner which has Soya milk! The staff are very helpful, they can arrange for taxis to and from hotel to airport at reasonable price. The rooms are quite small but well equipped.

Room Tip: If you are 2 people as for the bigger sized rooms with a view not facing the pantry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in September. We had an internal facing standard room with queen size bed.The room was well appointed. It at times was noisy, due to other guests carrying on until early am.It is necessary to leave the large window/door open for ventilation as the room was very stuffy, so if there are noisy neighbors!!!!! Our room did not have an air conditioner. The daily cost was 780mx pesos or $US62 at the time. It was reopened in March 2013 after a total renovation. It was previously named the Frimont Hotel, and we had stayed there a number of times over the past 20 years.The location is excellent being only 40 metres from the Ave La Republica and 130 to La Reforma and a 10 min walk to La Alameda Park. We always feel secure staying in Tabacalera, the National Lottery building is just around the corner and the Police are always patrolling the area. The staff we found to be friendly and helpful, and speak English.

Room Tip: We have found the rooms that face onto the street are generally reasonable quiet, as there are not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gangista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collioure66190
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's a dilemma! Say a place is great and the prices go up. But this hotel is a find. We saw reviews and booked. Of course the photos exaggerate a bit but this modern, chicly designed hotel is excellent value for money. Good bedrooms, excellent bed and all the necessary amenities in a decent bathroom. Friendly informed staff. Plenty of restaurants around. Scruffy street however but it didn't bother us. It's just not in on the trendy side of Paseo de Reforma but that is only a 4-minute walk from the hotel. Will we go back? Sure... We have booked another couple of nights next week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. Higher floors, more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Revolution. The location was perfect. We found great places to eat nearby. The staff was very accomadating. The little bit of construction noise was not a bother to us. Wonderful for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terwiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#38 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#32 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#35 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#51 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#24 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Revolucion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Revolucion

Property: Hotel Plaza Revolucion
Address: Calle Jesus Teran 35 | Colonia Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Revolucion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new opened hotel near Paseo de la Reforma. 86 modern designed and fully equipped rooms with all commodities. Gym, bar, laundry service, security, room service, business center and free high speed WiFi in all areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Plaza Revolucion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Revolucion Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing