We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great starters, mains a bit bland…” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mexsi Bocu

Mexsi Bocu
Ranked #280 of 3,826 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Condesa
Description: Fusion food mexican-French
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great starters, mains a bit bland…”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Really enjoyed the environment, and the service was great. Lots of good interior ideas. Starters were really good, we had the mixed tostadas. Mains were a bit bland. My friend had the fish baked in bread, which actually was fish. Baked in bread. Couldn't complain about that, but it did come out a bit bland. I had the crab ravioli, which was overpoweringly salty.
Deserts was creme brûlée, in three flavours. But actually I couldn't distinguish between them other than by colour because it was just sugar, more sugar, and lots of sugar flavours.
Good service and environment, okay price, just wished the food was a fraction better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TOSOTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    60
    27
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice mexican french style restaurant ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is very very good for a nice romantic dinner. Lovely place and great food. The attention is great. Nice option to go to a new place in the core of the Roma.

Helpful?
Thank Yikesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My best memory of Mexico City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had the raw tuna tostadas, beef tenderloin and lava cake with ice cream, accompanied by a chateau timberlay merlot. This could possibly have been the best meal I have ever had - as a complete meal. The ambiance was also perfect - french bistro decor in the heart of mexico. The name says it all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Mexican bistro with fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

In the heart of the Condesa with a sophisticated atmosphere. Tried the duck the stake and then the roasted tomatoe soup - all very good! Came during the day but would likely be back for dinner, maybe in the outdside patio if it nice weather.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SSSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant - Awesome Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stumbled upon this little gem while looking for a different restaurant in the area (it was closed), and were so happy we did. The service was that of a five star restaurant and the food was incredible. The only disappointment I had was in the French Soup - it was a little bland. My boyfriend got the french dip and corn chowder soup (he loved both!) and I got the veggie salad (very good) in addition to the soup. We definitely enjoyed the bread, maybe a little too much, then ordered the creme brulee for dessert (AMAZING, especially the pistachio flavor). For all the food you get, the prices cannot be beat! Would definitely come back here again and recommend this place to friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexsi Bocu also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mexsi Bocu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing