We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little bakery and coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fournier Rousseau

Fournier Rousseau
Ranked #13 of 27 Bakeries in Mexico City
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Roma
Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
219 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely little bakery and coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Although there is really no place to sit down, there are a few seats outside where you can enjoy the fine pastries and bread from this neighborhood bakery. We grabbed some pain au chocolat, croissants and bread and thoroughly enjoyed all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great tiny bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Cute neighbourhood bakery with great coffee and delicious pain-au-chocolat. Cakes and baguettes are to go only, but there are a few seats outside where you can enjoy their coffee and croissants.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cake out of a Box”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had high hopes for this place, as the atmosphere, decor, and smells are impeccable.
However, the staff was beyond rude, acting as if they were doing us a big favor by selling us a chocolate cake, and the cake itself was one of the worst bakery-bought cakes I have ever tried.
Dry, tasteless, and more or less could have come out of a box. The piece of supposed chocolate on top was nothing more than a bad sugar-milk mixture coated in a dark substance, nothing resembling actual chocolate.

I'll admit that the pear and apple tarts look delicious, but I'm hesitant to try anything else at this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkonkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
304 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Next to my grandmothers flan, this huge piece of extra creamy, darkly caramelized was the best flan I've ever had. An absolute must.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Slice of Deliciousness!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a new, cute, French bakery on the block. Drop in to pick up a piece of cake or some fresh baked bread. There are a few seats along a bar, where you can also enjoy a coffee while there.

The cake I had was delicious. The chocolate buttercream was probably my favorite part as I'm an icing fan in general. It's a nice stop for a sweet treat or to pick up something for home, whether your having guests, with the family or something to satisfy your craving.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xebec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fournier Rousseau also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fournier Rousseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing